CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

HOW IMPORTANT OUR THOUGHTS!

Posted by Cindy H French on 02/12/2014


As a continuation of my post on Monday, we went to the doctor on Tuesday. Turns out I have pneumonia and costochondritis in addition to the pleurisy! Gee, no wonder I hurt so much and I am so very tired! My wonderful doctor (primary) loaded me up on antibiotics, 800 mg Ibuprofen and codeine cough syrup. She told me to hold a pillow when I cough. That helps with the pain of coughing. By the way the costochondritis is the inflammation of the cartilage between the ribs and of course, it comes from coughing!

Last night was of course a little discouraging, so I went back to my Sunday devotional to remind myself that God was telling me that these afflictions are among His most favored gifts. It does take an act of will to choose to praise Him anyway. In fact, that leads me to today’s devotional which is really why I wrote today. God is so good in light of my need of Him! Again, I am going to quote from the book  JESUS CALLING by Sarah Young. 

I am ever so near you, hovering over your shoulder, reading every thought. People think that thoughts are fleeting and worthless, but yours are precious to Me. I smile when you think lovingly of Me. My Spirit, who lives within you, helps you to think My thoughts. As your thinking goes, so goes your entire being. Let Me be your positive Focus. When you look to Me, knowing Me as God with you, you experience Joy. This is according to My ancient design, when I first crafted man…I planted that longing in human souls, knowing that only I could fully satisfy it. Delight yourself in Me; let Me become the Desire of your heart.

Psalm 37: 4-7, 23-24 Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord. Trust him and he will do this. He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noonday sun. Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him…If the Lord delights in a man’s way, he makes his steps firm, though he stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.

These particular scriptures are really important to me-have been for a long time for so many reasons.  I do know that 3 children are here in our family because of claiming this promise–my youngest child among them. I know of many other blessings of the Lord as well. Each time it is easier to wait on Him, knowing the blessing is coming. So let us all be careful of our thoughts! Our holy God’s Spirit does live within us!

One Response to “HOW IMPORTANT OUR THOUGHTS!”

  1. Beautiful and comforting words… Take care and know you are in my thoughts and prayers.. Diane

Leave a Reply

 
