CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

Surely God Is My Salvation; I Will Trust And Not Be Afraid, Isaiah 12:2

Posted by Cindy H French on 02/10/2014


The verse in the title came from my devotional this morning. I should finish it…  “The Lord, the Lord, is my strength and my song; He has become my salvation”. The Lord told me that hardships come my way as part of my journey. He is careful as He allows them and exactly how hard they are! But He said to not retreat in fear from the afflictions, since they are among His most favored gifts.  This was from the book JESUS CALLING  by Sarah Young.

Now let me tell you why this was so very important to me this morning. Last night, we had gotten home from a short visit to the Panhandle of Florida (more news on that later) but I had been short of breath and my chest had hurt increasingly as I coughed or laughed. So I had used my nebulizer, taken my other meds and just gone to bed early. I knew there was no way that I wanted to go to the ER on a Saturday night in Atlanta! I slept most of the night propped up on multiple pillows and had a neck pillow for my head.  My husband had thought a heating pad would help, so I used that too. Still we woke up early, not having gotten a lot of sleep. It was a rough night! Oh how much I prayed about NOT going to the hospital again! I prayed in the early morning, really having a running conversation with the Lord because by then, He had told me to go. I begged and pleaded not to have to or even just to go to Immediate Care, but no, He was so insistent. I can’t laugh, because it hurts, but I think now back on our conversation, He was very gentle, but like I said, so compelling me to go there!

So off we went. Everyone thought I had thrown another clot. I kept saying, ” I don’t have sticky blood!”, but the symptoms were there. The problem was that they needed to get an IV in the crook of the arm area. NOT the best vein area for me. I have the tiniest veins! It took 2 IV nurses and a sonogram machine to get the IV in a vein that didn’t blow! I have bruises everywhere else. The good news is/was that it wasn’t another clot! The bad news is that it seems I have pleurisy-and oh my goodness, does it ever hurt! They treat it with steroids, just like my asthma, so once they kick in, perhaps I’ll feel better. Steroids generally gave me energy and took away my RA pain. I certainly pray they will take away the lung pain. I have to admit to being pretty miserable with it.

And yet, I truly can say, thank you Lord! Thank you for the check up which I apparently needed. Yes, He knew that. And yes, I can praise Him through the pain as He is my Strength and my Song. Still, I would appreciate your prayers as I recuperate.

3 Responses to “Surely God Is My Salvation; I Will Trust And Not Be Afraid, Isaiah 12:2”

  1. I’ll be praying Cindy… Sorry to hear you have yet another challenge to overcome, but as usual you are trusting the Lord… Diane xo

    • Diane, it seems to go on and on! What I could not share yet is that they also found 2 spots on my right lung. One that looks potentially cancerous.Now I know why the Lord was so very insistent on my going to the hospital. He wanted me to get the test! He wants me to get early treatment. If I am able to see my doctor tomorrow, I will get a referral to an oncologist. But I meant what I said, I will praise Him through this!

Leave a Reply

 
