CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

Why Study the WORD?

Posted by Cindy H French on 10/07/2013


Sometimes I am asked why in the world I believe that the Bible is the Holy Word of God. Why in the world I study it. Before I tell you of my personal experience with it, let me give you the facts of it. The Bible was written by 40 different authors, most of whom didn’t know one another, over the course of 1500 years. It was written in 3 different languages, but with one continuous story through out those 66 “books”, written by men, but inspired by God. This Holy Book is prophetically accurate. There are over 300 prophecies alone about Jesus Christ. Many of which were fulfilled on the day of his birth. The odds of just 8 of those prophecies being fulfilled would be 1 to the 17th power!! That is astronomical!! The Bible is God’s love letter to us. It is present; it can be known; He reveals Himself on the pages. You want to know what God is like? Then just look at Jesus. He said, “if you have seen me, you have seen the Father. If you have heard me, you have heard the Father.” What about science and the Bible? If you read the news or listen to the news, you know that science is constantly changing. However the Bible is not. These days, there are more elements, less planets, but God’s Word never changes. Ephesians 1:4 says  For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight.  That goes right along side of Genesis 1:26, 27 Then God said, ” Let us make man in Our image, in Our likeness”…So God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female he created them. The Bible tells me I was not randomly created. I was deliberately, divinely designed, as all people are! We are not descended from monkeys! And to this day scrolls are still being discovered that are hundreds, sometimes thousands of years old, but every word, every jot and tittle is the same as our Holy Bible today. God Protects His Word throughout the Ages. Coming to study the Word of God myself was not an automatic thing on my part. I did study for my Bible classes at church or for those I taught, but to study because I just wanted to know for myself wasn’t the reason. My mother was always after me to read the Word and I would tell her I liked to study it, but I needed the “down time of fiction” too. But in 1993 as I was going through the last bit of reconstruction surgery from my breast cancer, I had an asthma attack under anesthesia and woke up with a tube in my throat in a hospital room instead of in the clinic where I had been. During this time, I had a ‘dream’. I was standing before God and he asked me how I had spent my life. Not well I had answered. And then he had asked me if I knew any of the people gathered around the throne. I didn’t know a lot of them, but some I did, because I had read my Bible stories as a child. I was ashamed and I asked for a 2nd chance. That I would study and read His Word, that I would make Him proud of me His daughter-because that’s what I became when I was born into His family when I accepted His Son as my Savior when I was 20 years old. So that is when I began my own personal Bible study. I have completed many different kinds and they are all great studies. Precept Studies-Kay Arthur, Beth MooreQuarterly Women’s Studies at Church, but for me, the best fit has been Bible Study Fellowship International. I can’t recommend it highly enough. If you have any interest in a Bible study that will teach you how to study, this is a good one. You can go as deep as you want or not, depending on the time you have available. So now you know why I study because I promised but also because I asked that the Lord would put a hunger for His Word in me and He has indeed! He answers all of my questions, gives me directions in everything I do. I have only to ask. This year as I said before, we are studying the gospel of Matthew. He wrote this specifically to the Jewish nation. He wrote to prove that Jesus Christ was just exactly who he said he was. Matthew was originally called Levi, the tax collector. All tax collectors had a form of shorthand! I didn’t know that, did you? That means that what Matthew wrote was pretty much word for word what Jesus said! Jesus quoted over 60 times from the Old Testament and so Matthew as the first gospel is a good bridge into the New Testament if you are reading it for the first time. Matthew had come to know that Jesus was the answer to all of his questions. He presents Jesus as an invitation to come to Him to find the answers to your questions. I know that God shaped a vacuum in every person that can’t be filled by anything that we pursue, but only by the Holy Spirit that comes inside with our acceptance of His Son. So I invite you to open up Matthew the first chapter. Read that genealogy! No one can now come and say “I am the Christ the Son of David and here is my lineage”. Do you know why? All of the records that proved that Jesus was exactly who he said he was, were destroyed when the Temple was destroyed in 70 AD. That is essential as are so many other specific prophesies. There are so many books out there that speak to this. One of the best is Josh McDowell’s “Evidence That Demands a Verdict”. Another prophecy is that Jesus would be born of a virgin. A lot of people don’t think that is so very important. But it is! If he is not truly the Son of God, then all I believe is for naught. There is a great book “The Chemistry of the Blood by Dr DeHahn that is fascinating and you will never doubt again after you read it.  I think that is enough for tonight.  Please keep praying for my back. I hope to be able to have an MRI this week.

One Response to “Why Study the WORD?”

  1. I’m glad as usual to hear from you… Hope that things medically have not been too severe. But will pray for your back…. Take care of yourself and don’t be working toooooo hard ! Diane xo

Leave a Reply

 
