CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

I’ve Been Reading A New Book-You Know What That Means!!

Posted by cindyhfrench on 07/03/2013


This book is going to completely change up some of your thought processes!! It came highly recommended to me by my dear “baby” sister who had had it given to her by my next to me younger sister! Of course as I have been reading it and loving it and completely blown away by the thoughts here but understanding some scriptures now for the first time-they actually really make good sense, I am wondering why she didn’t recommend the book to me too. I will have to ask. However, at least God got it to me. Thank her for reading it 3 times I understand and my baby sister for reading it and then giving it to me with the understanding that I have to give it back-some day!I  may have to read this one 3 times too, to get it all down!! So with that buildup!! Ta Da!! the name of the book is  God’s Astounding Opinion Of You. It was written by Ralph Harris.  Oh, and it turns out that brother number one apparently has read it too and knows of the author.

Before I go into the book I will just throw there that I love book recommendations-especially from my family-but also from my readers, so if you’ve read something wonderful that touched you to the bottom of your toes, you write me back and tell me so. It may take me awhile get through the books, but I will.

I am not going to do a “cliff’s notes for you. But I do want to go through some things that hit me right off the top that were different from what most books are about. This book is not going to tell you “how to get better”. Surprised? Don’t be.. The premise is,, we are already better because on the day we accepted Jesus as our Savior and the Holy Spirit of God came to live inside of us, we became a new creation ourselves. And our Father always sees us as that creation and no other.  That’s a big one, isn’t it? But really if you will just believe it and live it, understanding that accurate self-estimation is based entirely upon what God thinks of you, then you are truly free to go and live well because you are well. That sounds like such a conundrum, doesn’t it? I hope it makes you read the first chapter!

So you want a little more of what I am talking about? Ok take how we look at ourselves. I am now 62. I don’t look like I did at 25 or 35 or even 55. My kids think I am vain because I put make up on everyday, whether I am going out or not. I have done this since I started wearing makeup, so it really doesn’t have anything to do with age, I guess. You know when it starts? it starts when somebody tells you that you aren’t pretty enough when you are a little girl or you are special enough for this or that. I heard that I wasn’t pretty, I was cute. I didn’t know it bothered until one day in my 40’s I happened to repeat to my husband-whoops! that was a mistake! he’s my biggest fan! But that’s what I mean. I’m sure the remark wasn’t said to be hurtful-and in so many ways now as I look back I can see as an adult how easily Satan tricks us into believing lies about ourselves.  I know something else that this showed me and this is for all the moms or grandmothers who might be reading this we have no idea how harmful our words can be to a child and what  havoc it can play in their lives.

Has it ever struck you that God who lives inside YOU is reading what YOU are reading right now? oooooh! boy did that change some of my reading selections! I thought I had done a good job of weeding out the chaff, but when you look at it this way, it changes your perspective just a little wouldn’t you say?  and next lets talk about how we see our struggles and our failures and our shortcomings-well all of you know that I am a mess and in a great need of fixing, right??  WRONG!! YES! AMAZINGLY YES!! and this is the part you have to get when we become fixated on ourselves and how we need fixing, we are not fascinated and fixated on GOD. Did you get that? DO YOU UNDERSTAND THAT? No? Ok, then get the book, it is wonderful!!

Oh and I have to tell you one more thing, in the 2nd chapter, the author backed right into talking to God and God talking back to him just like HE did me!! I was so excited about that! remember when I wrote ya’ll about that?  And God talks about Perfect People. Remember me talking about that? ok I’ve got to stop or I would go on all night.

A very big thank you to those who wrote and welcomed me back. I appreciate it. For those that didn’t write, I could use your prayers at the least just that I can keep my eyes fixated on the Lord and not on me. That if you have prayer requests you will write and share them with me. I have a journal now so that I don’t forget anything. Know that I am very thankful for you all and anxious to re-visit your sites over the weekend and catch up.

Goodnight and God Bless,

Cindy

3 Responses to “I’ve Been Reading A New Book-You Know What That Means!!”

  1. Glad you’re back … your enthusiasm is evident in every word you write…not just when you speak… Diane

    • oh thank you dear one! I have been trying to see who my new followers are! One is very interesting!
      aopinionatedman.com I read some of his posts at first put off, but glad I kept reading. he has a big pot being stirred on the abortion issue and the Texas legislature voting down a law and he is anti so it was very interesting and I just HAD to jump in!

Leave a Reply

 
