CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

A CHALLENGE FOR EVERYONE

Posted by cindyhfrench on 03/10/2013


You always know that the Lord is telling you something important and specific when all of your devotional and Bible study material come together! As you all know we are in a new place. Relearning our way around, renewing friendships, finding a new church home, and for me figuring out how I might fit in this Atlanta market have made this a challenging first month (and a few days).  I’ve been asking for particular guidance and finally I think I have some answers -which are not new principles by any stretch- or any new revelation-but simply the Lord saying what He has said for generations to anyone like me who has asked the same questions- “Follow my Precepts”. Ok,  then let’s look at what His Precepts might be.  The dictionary says that a precept is a command or a principle intended as a general rule of action or conduct. So Biblically,  God wants me to follow His commands for my conduct and my actions. How do I find out what those commands might be so that I can follow them? The only Book that God wrote is His Holy Bible and it was written to instruct us and to guide us as so many denominational statements about the Bible and their belief in the Bible were stated for the world to know what they believed. Now, let me stop right here as say I am not going to attack any denomination for what they have or have not done. This is NOT about any of THAT.

As I read the scriptures that have the word precept in them, they pull me in a whole different direction. Let me show you. I can’t write out as much scripture as I would like to but I hope you will bear with me as God is leading me as I write this and I will put in what He wants. The first scripture to mention the word precept in Psalm 19:8, but this is one of those times that if you only read the one verse, you will not get the whole meaning of the passage.

Psalm 19:7-14 The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul. The statutes of the Lord are trustworthy, making wise the simple. The .precepts of the Lord are right, giving joy to the heart.  The commands of the Lord are radiant, giving light to the eyes.  The fear of the Lord is pure, enduring forever. The ordinances of the Lord are sure and altogether  righteous. They are more precious than gold; they are sweeter than honey, than honey from a comb. By them is your servant warned; in keeping them there is great reward.  Who can discern his errors? Forgive my hidden faults. Keep your servant also from willful sins; may they not rule over me. Then will I be blameless, innocent of great transgressions. May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock, and my Redeemer

Now can you see why it was important to have the verses around verse 8 written out too? It gives a whole different feeling and prospect to the passage. It becomes very important now. You take notice! The first thing I did was  to see if indeed I have joy in my heart, light in my eyes? I have to tell you that my eyes weren’t as bright as they have been-because again I am asking and seeking.  But my joy is there!  and do you know why? Because joy is a gift of the Holy Spirit. It doesn’t depend on circumstances to be joyful-it just is. And when I let that joy go and think of all the wonderful blessings that  I have and the answers to questions that I do have, well, the joy just gets bigger!  Then think about the fear of the LordThis simply means  to revere Him.  So often flippant language about God , the relationship or prayer, or a story will reveal a lack of reverence for His true Presence. I know I can admit it because I am forgiven those times I have been flippant. It is easy in our world today, very easy not to give Him the Utmost Reverence. Wait what does reverence really mean? Worship and adore, honor and respect; four little words that are probably the most important words in our language. I would add two more, forgiveness and acceptance.  A person can live a life pleasing to the Lord and to his fellow man if he practices those  six words. wow, six little words could change your world, could change my world.  Worship, Adore, Honor, Respect, Forgiveness and Acceptance.  Anybody up for a trial, that you would be willing to really try and live these six words just for a week? Keep track of anything different in peoples’ attitudes or your attitude in your quiet time,  and then next week, let me know?  And of course I will be doing it too. I can’t ask ya’ll to do something I wouldn’t do. So now it is on my calendar to tell ya’ll of my experiences as well.  I just bet we’re all in for something Good!

Psalm 111:1-10  Praise the Lord. I will extol the Lord with all my heart in the council of the upright and in the assembly. Great are the works of the Lord; they are pondered by all who delight in them. Glorious and majestic are his deeds, and his righteousness endures forever. He has caused his wonders to be remembered. The Lord is gracious and compassionate. He provides food for those who fear him ; he remembers his covenant forever. he has shown his people the power of his works,giving them the lands of other nations. The work  of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy. They are steadfast forever and ever, done in faithfulness and uprightness.  He provided redemption for his people; he ordained his covenant forever– holy and awesome is his name. The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; all who follow his precepts have good understanding. To him belongs eternal praise.

I don’t know about ya’ll but I think we are onto something good here! This is real life  stuff. Our Lord knew that we were concerned about paying the bills, our home, our clothing, our children, even education–because He addressed every issue in His Word.  We are living in perilous times, certainly what I believe as so many other Bible believing Christians do,  the last days. Ours is the first generation that could spread the gospel literally to every part of the world. Our Lord said when that was done, to look for Him, because He was coming when that was done. The Prophets wrote of signs in the heavens and signs in the earth. I would say that we certainly have had an up tick of those events–all the more reason to try our little experiment. I look forward to hearing from each one of you.  May the Lord God bless you for your efforts.

4 Responses to “A CHALLENGE FOR EVERYONE”

  1. I am going to put those words in a prominent place to remind me ….Diane

    BTW Did you lose a post or something?

  2. Oh and I noticed there is no title for this blog? Diane

  3. pattiburris said

    I love your blog! I will be taking the 6 word challenge!

  4. Tara Menoud said

    Never mind my prior question on precepts, you pretty much covered it! 🙂
    Tara Menoud

Leave a Reply

 
