CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

To Act Without Knowing How You function is not good; and if You Rush Ahead, You Miss Your Goal.

Posted by cindyhfrench on 12/04/2012


That is from Proverbs 19: 2. My emphasis tonight is the rushing ahead. I am not going to as I usually do-rush what you say? Our move back to Atlanta, Ga after 30 years in Florida. I did think I would spend the rest of my life here. I do love and the weather. I have come to love our little house that the Lord gave us too and often tell the story of how we came to it.  I love my BSF group and will probably miss them the most. I have made some dear friends here.  So how was I rushing? We knew that we were going to move back up to Atlanta when our lease was up in June, so we thought to look around and see what kind of housing might be available for what kind of money. We found a great apartment with superb amenities. There were only 2 negatives. The kitchen was miniscule. (even to their drawers-only one large one and across the room, one very small one.) Since the point of our arrangement is for me to slow down and take lots better care of myself,   He’s been doing the cooking and shopping for us. So if HE said He could deal with the kitchen, then why should I worry about  it  all the time? So what did I do/not do?  First I presented our dilemma to our landlady…who could not have been more gracious and understanding. And She went me one farther, find your place and then move. Go ahead and be packing, know that God is in everything. aaah, how our God does work. .So after speaking with the landlady and getting the green light, Dennis just started packing away. We were to call the apartment people that our daughter had gone over and spoken with on Saturday and fill out an online app and overnight an application fee. But as we started to do those final thing, I was certain, that I was rushing and it wasn’t good. I looked at my husband and said the same to him. I think I shocked twenty years off of him, but as we prayed and our spirits calmed, we knew we were making the right decision. It may not seem that way for the world because in all liklihood we will lose the apartment.  For us that certainty was a hard decision. but, we believe if that happens God just has something better for us. 

6 Responses to “To Act Without Knowing How You function is not good; and if You Rush Ahead, You Miss Your Goal.”

  1. cshowers said

    Amen. Praying for just the right home for you and your husband. 🙂

  2. So you are moving but just not to the apartment that you thought you would?

    That exact thing happened when we decided to move…We looked at one ‘Mobile Home’ that was small and when we started to figure out where everything was going to go it became very apparent. There was a larger one that we knew of but it had a ‘conditional’ offer on it and was more money and so hadn’t looked at it. But it was online. I couldn’t shake the feeling that if we followed through on the smaller one we would not be happy…And one night after praying I couldn’t get this other one out of my mind…and so even though I had gone to bed…I got up and went and looked at the other one and talked about whether or not we could maybe get that one ..with my husband,…make a long story shorter …we phoned and the condition had been lifted and it was available…..And that’s the one we bought!…..

    He will find you exactly what you need and have a peace about..Diane

  3. It’s very difficult to make a move after 30 years, leaving friends behind and moving out-of-state. That alone makes hunting for an apartment even more difficult, but you will be happy with your final decision. It might not be the apartment that makes things so uneasy, rather change and situation. Embrace that a new home continues to open your heart to new possibilities. Praying for all the right moves, and blessings. Edie

  4. Let peace be the umpire of your heart, Cindy! If you don’t have peace, don’t do it! Colossians 3:15 says: “And let the peace of God rule in your hearts,….”

    God will lead you in the way you should go!

  5. Lisa said

    Cindy:

    My mom and dad moved across country after 41 years in New York. It took them a little while to adjust, and then they loved it. Keep taking care of yourself.

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

 
