CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

Perfect Peace-Is That Trusting?

Posted by Cindy H French on 11/04/2012


I am writing today from my favorite book again, yes, Isaiah.  To be more specific the 26th chapter, verses 3 and 4. And this is what it says:  “You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast because he trust in you. Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord, is the Rock eternal”

So let’s think about perfect peace first. What does that mean to you exactly? I would imagine it could mean a lot of  different things to different people. So for my purposes I’ll try and be a little generic, but you all know my story, so perfect peace for me would mean no worries.  Oh Goodness there is sin! For am I told not to worry to let the Lord take all of my worries? to lay by burden at His feet? I do it a hundred times a day-probably like a lot of you do. But then I take it  back again. Oh I do know better and I certainly don’t want it. Why can’t I leave it at the foot of the cross? This is where I guess I have to make my stand. Out in public Just because I know that my witness for the Lord God of Abraham, Issac and Jacob  must not be sullied. Must ring out clean and clear and true. So this time  I have to leave it at the foot of the cross. I can not go back, again. I have to step out in faith that the Lord, my Abba Father is going to answer me, just as He has time and time before. 

Worries,that is a big all-encompassing word, isn’t it?  I could be talking about my health, my business, my family, my friends, the state of our economy, the election. Oh, I could go on and on. If you want to worry, you can alwasys find something to worry about, but I am not one of those people. I like my “perfect Peace” but you know what? I can’t just snap my fingers and have it!  The verse says you have to have your mind steadfast  because you trust in the Lord. Oh there is that little word again!  Abba Father did say He was going to teach me to trust Him and everytime I turn around that is exactly what is happening! Another trust lesson! These are hard, not funny, and getting old. I am ready to be done with them. But I think I haven’t learned the lesson yet-that’s why it’s back today. The Lord God wants me to trust Him with everything  that I am. With everything I could be or want to be. I think that I do trust that much, but then something happens to show that no, to go the distance on this new situation I have to come up some more.

Verse 4 talks about the Lord being the Rock Eternal. I like mental picture! Solid, able to withstand anything, all things-forever. So when I get the trust thing down, I will be trusting in a/the Lord God Most High, the most amazing God, eternal God Who is that Rock  that protects and shelters. That is exactly what I have to keep my mind on. IS HIM! WHO is MY GOD? I KNOW HIM. He is faithful, a comfort in every time of trouble, Who has sheltered me in cleft of the Rock, Who has carried when I was too weak, to spent to do or go myself. That is who my God is. Will He show up when I need Him too? Absolutely! He doesn’t let His daughter down.

Nothing like the Word of God to put the world in perspective-at least my world. Thank you Lord for your Word. Thank you Lord for yourself and for your sacrifice that I could know you and love you and have you for my Abba Father.

2 Responses to “Perfect Peace-Is That Trusting?”

  1. So very true Cindy…Not wanting to worry but to leave whatever it is that is a concern at the foot of the Cross…with the Lord…and then finding that we are having to do it again…but I know that He understands His children…and our human nature and is so faithful.

    You have been on my mind wondering about your asthma and if it is settling down at all…Take care …Diane

    • Thank you Diane. yes the asthma is much better. The meds worked perfectly this time. no, remember in the beginning of my blogging I talked about the tumors on my head? I think I have a new one, my husband felt it too. I really don’t want to go thru all of that again. It’s almost too much to fathom. But of course He will do what He will do. tonight tho, I called my friend Calvin in Georgia. He has the gift of healing. He has prayed for several things for me to be healed. I know God’s Spirit is very strong in him, so I asked Calvin to pray for my head and I will talk with him tomorrow as well. When we were praying for my shoulder that was encapsulated it was a slow heal, but it is healed and the doctor told me it wouldn’t heal-that I could replace the shoulder joint!! No I don’t think so. But Calvin prayed and now it is perfectly fine. He prayed for my RA just like I did. And here it is 2 months and I still don’t hurt. I am going to speak with the doc on Friday about the internal stuff and is that ok, but since I don’t have symptoms, I don’t want to take the drugs.

Leave a Reply

 
