CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

A Heavy Heart

Posted by Cindy H French on 10/19/2012


This morning as I continue to read headlines that remind me of Bible prophecy in some ways makes my heart heavy and sad. Sad because I know of so many that are turned away fron the Lord God-so many who are going to be surprised and caught unaware, unprepared.  And then there are all those I don’t know, but know of. All I can do is pray and exhort others to pray. Are you praying regularly, those who are following me? I don’t believe I spend enough time with the Lord and am getting up earlier and earlier to do so. What I have found is a beautiful peace around 5-5:30 in the morning. I always have to let the puppy out if I get up and so I get to see the stars still in the dark sky and that without all the other lights on they shine a little more brightly. It makes it easy to begin to worship. When I see all those millions of stars and think of our Mighty God putting them in place one by one and knowing them by name, it kind of blows you away-seriously if you really think abut it. And since I am studying Genesis as you all know, that’s what I am thinking about still.

This week we were all the way into Cain and Abel. It was interesting to really do a study on them, because I had always thought God a little unfair when it came to them. What I forgot of course, is that He knows the heart and exactly where that sacrifice is coming from. Give a little, give a lot-that doesn’t matter to him.  It’s where it’s coming from in your heart. He’s been dealing with me on the same subject. How very hard it is to give that tithe when there is no regular money on a monthly basis.  And yet not to do so is a lack of trust on my part, is that not also true?  So while, that tithe may go to particular ministries vs “the church”, God knows that wherever He something here, there or yon, it has been taken care of. What little I gave last month to one of our ministries helped a woman with 15 children. I didn’t even know about her until I had already given-but not earmarked-and this time,  because I was with the leader was actually told how it would be spent and on whom it would be spent. I was so thrilled to know. This woman takes in the unwanted children. The police bring them to her and she does her best to care for them. This is one of our African ministries. The other one I had mentioned-the sewing classes where we teach the women to sew and they can they make garments to be sold and so can provide for their families. In those instances, they have been widowed or just abandoned by their husbands often with 3 or more children at home and no means of support.

I realize that the African continent is not exactly our neighbor. But with the world at our fingertips, it has become like our neighbor and how can we stand by and do nothing? This reminds me of the parable of the Good Samaritan. In Luke 10:30, Jesus is speaking to  an expert in the Jewish law and he has asked Jesus what he must do to have eternal life.  Jesus answered with a question-What is written. The expert of course quoted,” Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all your soul and with all your mind  AND  Love your neighbor as yourself.”..he should have stopped there, but then he asked who his neighbor was …and you all know the story –The man went down from Jerusalem to Jerico and fell into the hands of robbers. They beat him and stipped him and left him for dead on the side of the road.  A priest came by- saw what happened and passed by on the other side of the road ignoring him. So too did a Levite, but then a Samaritan came on road and he saw the man and took pity on him. He bandaged him up, got him to an innkeeper, left money for his keep and care and said he’d give him more if he required it on his return… Which of the three people do you think was the man’s “neighbor?” So when confronted -all I can do  is all I can do. When the Lord leads I give what little I have…and trust Him to make up the difference.   All this just from Cain and Abel and a few million stars!

I do urge you if you are not involved in some kind of mission to get involved. You have to be hands and feet somewhere or Jesus will say” What did you do with your life that I gave you?-Trust me He does say that. He said it  to me in a dream in 1993. It was a waking dream from anesthesia. I had had an asthma attack while under and so woke up with a tube in my throat. Ever since 1993, I have been in a Bible study and I have been back in church and been sharing what God has done for me. I know He’s real. You know that too if you follow me. But we can’t just sit here in our comfortable American homes (while we have them anyway) and not be hands and feet in some way. Check out World Vision. If I could do one more thing. That would be it.

One more thing and yes I don’t intend to stop until the election is over. I read with interest a memo that has been release by Billy Graham’s office about the election.  He is simply asking people to vote remembering our God, the unborn, and our Christian principles. I pray he is not saying too  little too late. I read that awhile ago He had suffered through a visit from the man in the W..house-that they had prayed together!!!how do you pray with a muslim? Keep on PRAYING  AMERICA. THE BATTLE IS NOT LOST, BUT NEITHER IS IT WON! GO TO THE POLLS AND VOTE!

One Response to “A Heavy Heart”

  1. My heart has been touched so much for the needs of those in Africa and others of the poorest of the poor. I realize only too well there are poor right here in North America…and while I try to help here also my heart breaks for those that are in severe drought and famine right now. The need is so great. I worked for the organization you mentioned for 13 years and believe wholly in the work that they do. They are but one of the NGO’s (Non-governmental organizations) that try to do what they can …and they are our neighbors like you say. They are our hands in places we cannot go ourselves…Diane

Leave a Reply

 
