CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

“I Talk About God Too Much” Deuteronomy 11:18-19

Posted by Cindy H French on 07/28/2012


My 2 oldest granddaughters came to visit us last weekend.  Saturday afternoon I took the youngest one with me (7) and the oldest (9) stayed with her granddaddy. She likes helping in the kitchen and they were cutting up vegetables. Of course the Justice  store for girls was right next to my store and is the kids favorite store, so we just had to go in there , Mimi!! I was told! Lucky for me, there was a huge sale going on and also lucky for me I had learned to check  through my phone to see if there were any online coupons! There were! I scored 40% off of the total purchase which was already 40% off! Yes, I have to be cheap. I have to be a good steward this time around.  This coming week is the older one’s 10th birthday and for the first time in a long time, I was able to take her to the store and let her pick out what she wanted and what fit. The girls although close in age, are not at all the same when it comes to taste in clothes. Nor do they fit them or wear them the same!

We were on our way home when the young one says “Mimi, you talk about God too much” then she added that her sister thought so too. I asked her why she thought that. She said we just weren’t talking about regular things–I asked what regular things-so she thought about that a minute because it’s school, ballet, playdates,  I need this or that! She laughed and said yes. and said, I guess we wouldn’t talking about stuff like me and my parents talk about everyday;  and of course, I agreed with her. Then she turned the tables on me, and asked me about who made the rainbow.  By then  we had arrived home, as we got out of the car, I asked her to look at the front yard and then up in the sky and tell me all that she saw.  Of course she saw all of God’s  creation. Then I said  to her to come on  in the house, we’d get her sister and the Big Bible with pictures and talk over why I love to talk about God so much.

That was exactly what we did. First I explained that although they hadn’t known that I had been very, very sick in the last 2 years, I was.  And that just the day before they came, I had gotten out of the hospital again and yes, it was serious but God wasn’t ready for me to come to heaven yet…Like my parents …they remembered their deaths over 3 yrs ago.  So first of all I am thankful to God that I am able to be here  with you. But the most important reason that I talk about Jesus is because I love Him so much for His sacrifice for me–then we had to talk about what a sacrifice was. They got that. Then we opened the Bible to answer the question about the rainbow. So I read the whole story and of course there were a million questions, but then there are lots of  other pictures in that Bible and they wanted the story on each one of them.. When we finished, I asked now do you understand why I talk about God or Jesus so much? Yes, now they understood .  They would understand by some of my questions of them too.

The Bible has a lot to say about teaching our children. I know we can not cram it down their throats like little birds, but sometimes I wish it were so. It would certainly save a lot of heartache if one really learned the important lessons when they are young. This is the scripture that reminds how often I am to speak of the Lord to my children and their children.  Deuteronomy 11:18-19  Fix these words of mine in your hearts and mind;  Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the  road, when you lie down and when you get up.    All the  time it seems I am  to be talking about my LORD GOD  to my children and their children. Jesus made that command even greater by opening up the world as brother and sister in Christ are united, then we must teach  those children too.

9 Responses to ““I Talk About God Too Much” Deuteronomy 11:18-19”

  1. Good post Cindy…We did talk with our children also as they grew up ..talked in many different situations about God to make Him part of our daily life…Diane

  2. Hope you are feeling better. You gave excellent explanations both in your personal life and through the Bible. Most of all, you shared precious time and a valuable understanding to your grandchildren.

    • I felt that we made good progress. I must admit to disappointment that despite going regularly to Sunday School, neither of them are very well versed in any of the Bible stories. They run such a fast paced life–all kids these days. Every minute is planned for-even play dates! I know my Bible story book was one of my prized books and I read it a lot. It gave me a great foundation to start with-something most adults don’t have. Thanks for your comment. And yes I am better. Looks like I might be on Coumadin for a long time. This was my 3rd maybe 4th episode and the percentage increases exponentially with reoccurrence. So far though, I haven’t had any side effects that I have noticed or been told to watch for. Which is great since I am on a real high dose.

      Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 813.390.8791 (cell) 813.926.9390 (direct) 800.878.7165 x120 813.968.6450 (fax) cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com View my profile on LinkedIn

      “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins, “Good To Great” Management Recruiters of Tampa North, Inc. is an equal opportunity employer regardless of race, color, religion, creed, sex, marital status, national origin, disability, age, veteran status, on-the-job injury, sexual orientation, political affiliation or belief. Employment decisions are made without consideration of these or any other factors that employers are prohibited by law from considering.

  3. So glad to hear of your conversations about the Lord with your grandchildren, Cindy! How important the role of a grandparent is. I am a long ways away from mine so I don’t have the opportunity very much to impart into their lives. 😦 However, I do have children who, in parenting them, are speaking to them of the Lord. I am so pleased to have been able to share that with my children and now they are with theirs! God Bless you!

  4. Lahyorz said

    It’s good to hear of someone who also just can’t help but talk about God! I find that it really makes no difference, whether it’s in good or tough times, I CAN’T HELP BUT TALK ABOUT GOD! When we get to a stage in our lives when the scripture, ‘In him we live, move and have our being’, becomes a reality, we’ll all be talking about him all day long!

    • thank you so much for your encouragement! I think I got the girls to understand why I love My God so much. And I do talk about Him all the time. I have 3 people ask me to teach them to talk like I do-at first I had no idea what they were talking about. But then she said, I’ve never had a business conversation and had God or Jesus Christ mentioned. You do it like He is sitting right there! Of course I said HE is!! He shows me who to recruit, who to talk to, what to say-if you read in the archives someplace I wrote about losing my voice for 18 months, and the miraculously He gave it back-I say that, because I still have paralyzed vocal cords, but I talked just like I do now.

  5. Quite fine publish. I just just simply happened at your website not to mention wished to say that have seriously loved reading your weblog content. In any case I will turn out to be subscribing to all your posts not to mention Hopefully most people publish once more rapidly.

  6. I simply want to say I am new to blogging and site-building and actually savored your website. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You absolutely have perfect articles. Kudos for revealing your blog.

Leave a Reply

 
