CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

A Familiar Passage John 14:7-14

Posted by Cindy H French on 06/26/2012


I can’t begin to do justice to this passage. It is so deep with meaning in different directions-but I am following just one today early as I read it and tonight before I sleep as I read it again. Key verses for me are  if you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.  Philip said, ” Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.”.  Jesus answered” don’t you know me,  Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say ‘Show us the Father?’ Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and that the Father is in me? The Words I say to you are not just my own. rather it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the miracles themselves. I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.  And I will do whatever you ask in my name so the  Son may bring glory to the Father. You may ask me for anything in my name and I will do it.

So for me, the parts that made the Holy Spirit in me stand up and shout were:I am in the Father and He is in me. And that seeing Jesus is seeing the Father, knowing Jesus is knowing the Father. This is a huge concept even today!  We get up every morning and go through our days and pay some attention hopefully to the Lord in some way, shape or form-we have dinner, play with the kids, bath routine, bed routine, and tomorrow it starts all over again. What for? We know Jesus. We claim to. He says that knowing him is knowing the Father. The Father, Our creator of heaven and earth, who by His very thought keeps everything together and in motion. So what ? Well, if you plan to go to heaven instead of hell you might give some thought to getting to know the God of the Universe, King of all Kings. He is a BIG GOD. He is not a benevolent old man up there administrating heaven! He is a HOLY God and He says we should be HOLY as HE is HOLY. How can we do that? That’s like telling me to quit drinking water. I can’t talk without it. How do I be Holy?

And then there is the final part of that passage.  the Son wants to bring glory to the Father, period and as long as what you ask is going to bring glory, he says you may ask me for ANYTHING in my name and I WILL DO IT. This is where you find out what brings Him glory-sometimes its the smallest thing, because it pleases Him to please us/me. This is where you learn trust. Because you believe that He will do what He says He will do. For me this was a harder road than I would have ever believed. I thought I trusted. But I didn’t. God knew I didn’t. He told me so. And then He said…but you will. I would tell you it is so much easier to do it His way in the beginning than your own way. You will find in searching for that peace and trustworthiness in every other place but God’s House, that it was right here waiting for you all the time.

One other thought-when we answer that door and invite Him in. the Holy Spirit comes in to stay. This is where again, you trust, because your mind can’t get around the idea of the Trinity. But this is what I know. the Holy Spirit is God also. So just as the Father was in Jesus and Jesus was in the Father, so is the Father in the Holy Spirit and the Holy Spirit in Him. And like Jesus, all things are said and done to glorify the Father who sits on the throne of the Godhead. Now think about this, don’t miss it; the Holy Spirit which is in the Father and the Father is in Him is also in You. That means that the Father is also in YOU. This is truly the greatest of all gifts that the God of the Universe, the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, our Creator of all things could give, He is IN YOU. He makes you able, Jesus says to do things even greater than He did. I am not talking about those things this morning-just His indwelling and the miracle of it all-but do you see now why He would say Be Holy as I am Holy?  You are my Righteousness? Your body is the Temple of God? this is all why.

There are so many other important parts in this particular passage, but these spoke to me today. How long do I have to have those quiet times with my Lord in the morning? either because He has come for me, or persecution has-and I’ll be the first to go. Because we are so close-on the very edge of eternity. I am so ready for this and then I think of beloved friends and family that I know don’t know my Lord Jesus and I think, tarry, just a little while more…surely they will come. if you are that person, don’t wait another day, another hour, another minute. Don’t take the chance. He’s standing at the door and knocking still, may I come in???

5 Responses to “A Familiar Passage John 14:7-14”

  1. I LOVE IT CINDY!!!!! Spectacular post!!!!

    • Thank you. I had thought about that scripture all day yesterday and then again most of the night. It must be very important that I get it. And that I act on it. Because God doesn’t usually put that pressure on me. Nor do I usually feel that timing pressure like I am starting to feel-and every time I pick up the newspaper or see the news it is stronger.

      Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 (cell) 813.390.8791 (Office direct dial) 813.926.9390 (corp vm) 813.264.7165 x120 (Fax) 813.968.6450 cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins “Good to Great”

  2. Beautiful message!

Leave a Reply

 
