CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

HOW DO YOU KNOW WHAT TO SAY? MATTHEW 10:19-20; JOHN 15:1-4

Posted by cindyhfrench on 06/11/2012


When I wrote of God‘s faithfulness early last week, I had no idea how He was going to continue through many situations or conversations exactly what He wants me to do.

I began to look for my daily “surprise” and yet apparently, I wasn’t taking things seriously enough. I had met a man at a networking meeting last month. He was very nice and polite and waited patiently until he was the last one in the group for me to speak with. I was very honest with him and told him I didn’t think I could help him…he’s a specialty engineer-who owned his own company-but it was just him. He was willing to be an engineer on any project, move anywhere-He just needed some direction and someone to be honest with him about his resume-which I didn’t see until later. He sent it, but did not follow-up until Thursday asking me for just a few minutes of my time. I emailed him back asking him to call me on Friday afternoon. And of course he called and so did everyone else! even my boss!

Finally I had to tell him I’d call him right back and once I got everyone off the phone, I did call back. We had gone through his resume and I had pretty much ripped it up and taken all of the ownership and principle wording out–Leaving his great accomplishments on projects, his accreditation’s, all the things that were important. Then I told him what we were going to do to market him and how I was to work with. What I do is thank the Lord for him and the job that He has for him. Ask him that my time would be profitable. And then I explained too that I pray for my candidates. I asked him if he had any problems with any of that? He said, ” Cindy, I was raised a Hindu, but I am empty and searching”. I told him he had come to the right place and thanked him for his persistence!!

I said why don’t we start at the beginning. That’s how you build correctly is starting there-again, God inspired!- I told him I wanted him to get an NIV Study Bible.  I wanted him to start in Genesis, and to read it like it is-God’s story. I ready the first few verses to him and said do you see the Spirit of God there as well as God, and Do you see Jesus as well? Yes, he did. What a wonderful beginning. I told him I was sure that God will start teaching him even as he is reading the story. and you know why? Because he is seeking and the Lord said if you seek me you will find me. And to think that I was almost too busy!!!  Thankfully the Lord saves me from myself most of the time. I can’t wait to see what He is going to do with this man and his family.

Jesus is speaking to His disciples: But when they arrest you, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say, for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you..   How can you possibly stay so close that the Spirit will speak? How do we have the fruits of the Spirit –of which self-control, patience, relying on Him is so key?

Look at  John 15:1-4 This is how we do it. This would have been a much better answer to my two new lady friends. But I’ll catch up to them and share. And you know how I got some of these verses and thoughts? Today’s service which was just for me! I need to learn another lesson.

I am the true vine and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit, he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clear because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

Patience by resting on the Vine… now there is a thought! Don’t be anxious for anything but rest and wait on the Vine.


5 Responses to “HOW DO YOU KNOW WHAT TO SAY? MATTHEW 10:19-20; JOHN 15:1-4”

  1. lbtk said

    Oh, Cindy. You just have no idea how much I needed to read this. I am beginning a Bible study with a group of young mothers (their idea, but you know how the devil loves a good challenge) on Wednesday. We have ordered them an ESV (English standard version) NT because this particular one has the plan of salvation in it. It is the one that just leapt out at me when we were shopping. When we did the initial survey of what these young, single mothers who had not grown up in church or had any teaching other than the occasional Bible school, we found that they wanted MOST was to know Jesus because they want to set an example for their children. I am hoping to convey to them that by having Jesus as your Lord, you can face anything. Please pray for all of us, right down to the people in our church who are keeping the nursery for this study. Sandy

    • Sandy! That’s pretty powerful stuff. I knew it was powerful for me because it explains so well how I always know what to say-and now I can share it with those 2 ladies!! I will be praying for your Bible Study too. I know how very important the work that you are willing to do there is! I pray to the Lord God that He will put the fetters on Satan and bind him tomorrow so that nothing he does can interfere with the class or anyone getting there that needs to be there. I pray for you Sandy, for a clear mind, for strength of voice and body. That the Holy Spirit will remind you of every scripture, every lesson that is applicable to tomorrows lesson. Lord, I pray for the women that are coming. I pray for prepared hearts, open hearts Lord, for your message of love and acceptance. I pray that nothing in the nursery would distract-that you would so bless the people who are caring for those children. Oh Father, we know that except you call and draw them to yourself, they will never be saved and so we pray that you would honor Sandy’s desire to help these women who want so much to be an example to their children and that by honoring her desire, you will also honor their desire and Lord call them to yourself so that they can see the true model of their behavior to follow-The one who gave his life for us that we could know him and the father personally in all of glory. Thank you Father for answering my prayer, because I know I am praying in your will. You said that it was not your will for any to perish-so here are the women to save-to bring to yourself. Thank you, Abba Father, whom I love and follow and trust with all that I am. In Jesus’ name I ask all of these things.

      Cindy French, CSAM, CPC

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY SWEET GIRL!!!! WISHING YOU TONS OF LOVE AND FUN FOR YOUR SPECIAL DAY!!!!! 🙂

    • Thank you Jo!!I am happy to still be here and even more happy that Jesus is really truly using me for His glory!

      Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 (cell) 813.390.8791 (Office direct dial) 813.926.9390 (corp vm) 813.264.7165 x120 (Fax) 813.968.6450 cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins “Good to Great”

  3. […] How Do You Know What to Say? Matthew 10:19-20; John 15:1-4 (cindyhfrench.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
