CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

A NEW AWARD “THE MRS. SPARKLY’S TEN COMMANDMENTS AWARD”

Posted by Cindy H French on 06/08/2012


Well, you could really knock me over with a feather tonight when I saw this  new award. I really, really appreciate and treasure each award. For me it is telling that I am on the right track saying and doing exactly what my Father wants me to do. This week has been full of those validations. I didn’t realize that I needed them so much! But my Father knew–and made sure that I got just what I needed-just as He always does.

Last night I spoke with one of my candidates. His father had passed from this life to eternity on Saturday. I spoke with him very briefly Sunday and he had mentioned that he had thought of me when he was with his father in his last half hour of life. I didn’t quite know what to make of that. But then when we spoke yesterday he explained. You see, often when you are speaking of someone’s hopes and dreams, you speak of faith as well if it is important to the person and to him it was important.  So we had exchanged a few stories over the last 2-3 months we’ve been talking-one of them was about my dad who has also passed on. It seems our dads were alike.  We commiserated with each other a bit, but I also had told him about how I had found out 1 week before he died exactly what my dad’s story was. I asked because I was afraid that he had not story at all. Instead he had quite a story-a brilliant mind (he was a nuclear physicist) regardless of what the Bible said, he still thought he needed to earn his way into heaven –he tried for over 60 years! When I finally got him to tell me about it. He said, “I’ll tell you, but you won’t love me anymore”. You see my Dad still didn’t understand unconditional love or grace. Even after he “gave it all up” as he called it and knew that at that moment the Holy Spirit truly came into his heart-He still had a very difficult time believing that anyone would love him unless he behaved a certain way, or acted a certain-even me.  I, of course, simply put my arms around him and told him how much I loved him –that I had always loved him even when I was mad at him. I didn’t stop loving him. He still asked me if I was sure that I still loved him-because his life had been a lie and he had been a hypocrite. I just looked at him through my tears and said, “that’s why Jesus came, Daddy.”  A little over a week later, he was gone, gone to be with my mom and Jesus in heaven.

So somehow in sharing my story and maybe other stories –I never know later what we’ve talked about-just that we’ve connected. I know my candidate a little better, they know me a little better. So whatever I had shared apparently helped this young man make absolutely sure that his dad was going to make it to heaven as well.  I am in awe of a great and mighty God that puts people together to help one another-sometimes when you don’t even know you are helping–but God knows-because He knows the future and everything that is going to touch me in any way, shape or form and it’s got to be filtered through His fingers. I am comforted by that knowledge.

So now we are going to talk about the Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award

The “Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award” has to do with a woman of the same name, known for being very elegant and having high expectations, and who is committed to maintaining integrity, good manners and behavior, as well as a rich sense of humor. I have been told  that I am elegant. I have been told that I have too high expectations of me and others. I have been told that I have integrity, good manners, and good behavior (thank you, Mama) But I don’t know about the rich sense of humor. I often don’t get the jokes. I do take things too seriously even when people are trying to ‘lighten up’. But I am trying to be better and ‘lighter about everything’. So again, I am grateful for the award and will try to live up to its name and keep its commandments.

 

RULES:
The rules for this award are that you must answer the following ten questions and nominate five-ten blogs that you think deserve the award.

 

 

1. Describe yourself in seven words.

 

Christ follower, Bible Student, Wife, Mother, and Mimi (grandmother0 

 

2. What keeps you up at night?

sometimes it’s God telling me to pray for something specifically, sometimes it’s reading too many blogs, sometimes, its writing too late., sometimes it’s my asthma.

 

 

3. Whom would you like to be?

 

Me. I am finally satisfied and at peace with who I am, and what my “perfect” body  is to God

 

4. What are you wearing now?

 

Jeans and a knit top my daughter gave me

 

5. What scares you?

 

is not standing up for my God and Savior enough or if it meant my life-could I do it-like others are having to do in the world today.  I used to be scared of dying of an asthma attack but the Lord cured me of that!

 

6. What are the best and worst things about blogging?

 

the best- is reading what God puts into the minds and hearts of others that so reasonates with me, that you form true bonds, friendship, love and caring for these people you haven’t physically met, but that doesn’t matter because you KNOW them. the worst thing is not having enough time to read all the blogs I want to read. I could read 24/7 for a week I think and still only mabe make a dent.

 

7. What was the last website you looked at?

 

One of my client’s websites

 

8. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

 

I would not talk so much

 

 

9. Slankets, yes or no

 

No….if  Diane said no, then I’ll say no.

 

10. She is absolutely so loving and giving. She is always concerned about the other person-not herself. I am not surprised that she is constantly be awarded  because she is such a dear, sweet, giving person. She listens, if she can help fix something she does-she’s the best editor I’ve ever had. I love her. She’s Diane and would you all join with me in tell her to put up the website called writerwannabe…because she already is, right???

 

 

12 Responses to “A NEW AWARD “THE MRS. SPARKLY’S TEN COMMANDMENTS AWARD””

  1. Wonderful blog and thank you ..for your sweet words….Diane

  2. p.s. I do try and fix ‘things’…. like connected with blogging …just so people know I don’t try to ‘fix’ them lol….Diane

  3. […] A New Award “The Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award” (cindyhfrench.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
