CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

From My Favorite Book-Isaiah

Posted by Cindy H French on 06/01/2012


Yet, O Lord, you are our Father.  We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.  Do not be angry beyond measure, O Lord; do not remember our sins forever.  Oh, look upon us, we pray, for we are all your people.   Isaiah 64: 8-9

Seek the Lord while he may be found; call on him while he is near. Let the wicked forsake his way and the evil man his thoughts. let him turn to the Lord and he will have mercy on him, and to our God for he will freely pardon. For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts… so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.  Isaiah 55: 6-9,11

What wonderful, comforting scriptures these are and were for me! Let’s start with the last verse first. This is God Himself saying that He is the one who inspires the particular words that go out as a witness, knowing that those very words will make happen exactly what He wants to happen. So when I speak scripture in my conversations, I know He has a reason for them being in that conversation. I know He has sent me a prepared heart to speak with and that He is going to accomplish whatever He has planned. When you really believe that, it is so easy to share the Good News of Jesus, because the burden of “winning” is not on you. It is on the Lord Himself. Jesus Christ standing before His disciples gave them and us as fellow believers, the charge to go out and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them  to obey everything He commanded us.  (when you do what He says you receive a special blessing) I bring this “Great Commission” up because so many people say to me,” you have the gift of evangelism, that’s why it’s so easy for you.” But truly exactly the reason that it is easy is as I have explained it. You can’t fail, when you really believe what the Lord God says!

Now going back to the very beginning scripture. I have a note in my Bible from 5 years ago. I had apparently asked the Lord for confirmation that I was to continue with my job that I have always felt was my mission. Several events had occurred to affirm that thought while at the same time, He was reminding me that I could do nothing without Him.

 In February 2007, my husband was one year and 3 months out of open heart surgery to repair a mitral valve in his heart that had ruptured   He was just two months past having a pacemaker/defibrillator put in and we were finally told that his heart had not recovered as much as they had hoped it would. That was hard news for me. I realized then, that I was going to be the source of income for us-another reason I had asked for confirmation as I am paid by commission.

But oh the Lord is so good! Even while He is telling you the “bad” news, He is giving you the good news  –I am the work of His hands! What artist do you know that feels like the work he is doing should be read,criticized and commented on? Well HERE is ONE. Let’s say I crave your comments.  And as the Lord says that our thoughts are not His thoughts, nor our ways, His ways. I understand so much better now when I do see a commandment about being obedient whether I understand  the commandment or not.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

2 Responses to “From My Favorite Book-Isaiah”

  1. […] From My Favorite Book-Isaiah (cindyhfrench.com) […]

    • I can imagine that my reaction might be very similar to his. If you look through my May 2011 posts, you will find one where I described meeting God in the ER during an asthma attack. I never looked at Him. I knew it was HIM, and I kept saying Yes, Lord to Him, but I didn’t look. Maybe in my subconscious, I remembered that you can not look upon the Lord and live and of course, right then I was trying so hard to live. of course now, a year later, my life has so changed because He has changed me. I know that He has given me this blog ministry and I am content. At the same time, I no longer struggle so hard to live. I wear a yellow bracelet and have a dnr signed in my records not to resuscitate me. I am sure that I don’t want to wind up on a respirator and that would be the next step. In the meantime, because of the gammagobulin infusions, I feel really well except for the breathng issues and the little bacterial infections I continue to pick up.

Leave a Reply

 
