CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

HOLINESS, OBEDIENCE, and RIGHTEOUSNESS-RELATED?

Posted by Cindy H French on 05/30/2012


I read a post this week by a young man named Chris Vennard.

This posting gave me two ideas that have been rolling around in my head for at least 3 days. I kept going back and re-reading to make sure that I was not misunderstanding but was indeed in total agreement with this writer! The ideas so boggled my mind that I couldn’t imagine that if indeed they are true, why in the world our Righteous and Holy God has not just zapped most of us. He certainly had the legal grounds to do. And isn’t that pitiful for God’s people to learn. THAT EVEN THOUGH JESUS DIED  and WAS RAISED AGAIN, there is still so much work to be done by His followers to tell the message and to live the message. ere now before you read what I say or after. It doesn’t make any difference. You see one, you will see both. his title was “Struggling for Holiness”. I am paraphrasing a bit, but here is he said:

Struggling for holiness–Our problem is that our attitude towards sin and  our victory over it is what we are commanded to do. So we look….and never do find it (that  we should ). but it is right there for us. First let’s look at Romans 6:16  “Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone to obey him as slaves, your’re slaves to the one whom you obey–whether you  are sins to sin, which leads to death, or to OBEDIENCE which leads to RIGHTEOUSNESS?  and then in 2 Cor 7:1 let us purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit, perfecting HOLINESS out of reverence for God.

Could it be our problem that our attitude towards sin and our victory over it is not what we are concerned about? I mean, we all are sinners, going to be sinners until the day we see Jesus. So we try to a degree to not do the overt horrible sins…perhaps never thinking that God, our Creator, our Father, our Deliverer might consider that sin is sin is sin; that there is no “good” sin and then ‘really bad’ sin; that any sin at all is repugnant to Him because He is HOLY. Do we not know that our sins grieve the heart of God? We are a success-oriented people so we don’t want to fail in our struggle, not because we know it is offensive to God, but because of our image of our success.

God wants us to walk in obedience-not victory, victory is a by product.  We do not take some sin seriously. We categorize some as unacceptable, some as tolerated. But that is not what His Word says. Even in the Old Testament, in 1st Samuel 15:22 God said to obey is better than sacrifice, and in those days, sacrifice was necessary for forgiveness of your sins! So how could it be Better? Obedience is better because if one is living in obedience, there isn’t the need for sacrifice!  Wait, Cindy, everyone sins! yes! But the SACRIFICE has been made; the DEBT has been paid.  What is left but obedience to the Lord’s laws and ways?

If obedience were not still important, then why is it spoken of so many times in the Word? Lot’s of times promises are given, that if you are obedient, then I will do this for you. Obedience is important to God. And there is no choice in the matter-I knew this instinctively at age 9 when I told Him He couldn’t tell me what to do any more than my daddy.  But eleven years later, I gave HIM that right to tell me what to do. I thought I got to pick and choose what it was that I wanted to be obedient about!! HA! He’s let me think that for far too long! I know now that I have to be obedient in all things if I am obedient in one thing!! and that is very very hard?

How can I do that? Of course, only by His Power, His Grace-not mine. And if Obedience leads to Righteousness which leads to Holiness…then He does have a plan to make that happen as they are intertwined-separate, but intertwined. That’s the part, that when you and I get there, He will be there to lead us to the next thing and the next thing, because He has a plan.  

His plans have always worked better than mine. His have been made since before the foundation of the earth. His are made knowing past, present, and future and everything that will impact those times. Whereas if I went by my plan which if I try for one day to have a plan and it gets off kilter for one reason or another, I am supposed to base my whole life and my eternity on this? I don’t think so. I have given it to the One Who Holds It All In His Hand-Who Keeps All Things (such as atoms) Together By His Very Thought. I am ok with being obedient to such a One as this, Who has told me that I will be His Righteousness.

 

6 Responses to “HOLINESS, OBEDIENCE, and RIGHTEOUSNESS-RELATED?”

  1. That realization was slow coming into my consciousness…quite a number of years ago…that sin is sin regardless of whether it is theft or murder or slander or greed etc. No matter what the sin is God simply looks at it as sin…somehow to humans we expect that some sin is not equal to other sin…but it is in God’s eyes……Diane

  2. […] HOLINESS, OBEDIENCE, and RIGHTEOUSNESS-RELATED? (cindyhfrench.com) Rate this:Share this:ShareEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  3. lbtk said

    “His plans have always worked better than mine.” No truer words have ever been spoken. I missed you while I was away on my vay-cay! It’s good to be back and read what my fellow Christian brothers and sisters have been sharing. Sandy

  4. hi Sandy! This one had to swirl around in my brain a couple of days. I had begun to realize that my obedience is not a choice that I make. It is a requirement! And that it is also a requirement to pursue holiness-not just if I want to, do I feel like it. so I will finish up tonight. I kept falling asleep as I was typing last night-but the Lord would wake and say you aren’t done yet. so I am going to start now, to finish earlier…did miss you, wondered where you were. hope you had a good time.

  5. […] HOLINESS, OBEDIENCE, and RIGHTEOUSNESS-RELATED? (cindyhfrench.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
