CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

BORN AGAIN JOHN 3:3,5-6

Posted by cindyhfrench on 05/26/2012


English: Jesus and Nicodemus

English: Jesus and Nicodemus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The scripture, Jesus is speaking to Nicodemus, the rich, young ruler:  v3 “I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again. v5-6  I tell you the t ruth, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless he is first born of water and the Spirit. Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit.”

Essentially, Jesus is saying there are two births. One of the flesh is the first birth, the human birth-born with sin nature. The second birth is of the Spirit . It happens when one accepts the Lord Jesus as Saviour and Lord and at that instant, the Holy Spirit comes into the spirit and heart of the person and makes that person wholly new (Col 3:10)

Born Again” is one of those descriptions used lately rather derisively. Recently I was asked if I attributed my attitude, my appearance,  my ability to seemingly come back over and over again,  to being “born again.” In this particular case, I don’t believe my questioner was being derisive, simply curious. He was one of my new doctors and he listened to me tell my story over the course of one hour in his office! It all started with the question-as it usually does. In fact my husband and I looked at each other as the question was being asked. He smiled at me because he knew exactly what was coming.

This is exactly the kind of opportunity that  comes my way every day in some way or the other. Now vs when I was younger in years and always running 100 miles/minute, I just seem to be more aware. Of course, the fact is my voice is controlled by the Lord since He gave it back to me in October ’06  and so He can speak anytime, anywhere with  His voice. He sends prepared hearts because He knows I will open my mouth to speak His words.

The one thing that I really emphasize to a new believer is how important it is to get into Bible Study. In our world today, there are too many distractions, requirements, and even those fiery darts that come out of nowhere that keep our attention to anything and everything that is not the study of the Word of God. I will admit that I have to fight for my time and carve it out. I have learned though that if I will spend that time in the morning, my day is so much better ordered! and my responses so much more Christ-like. Not  that any of it was bad, there is always  just a better way. That ‘s the way I want; the best way. It’s so easy to keep that conversation that was started early, going all through t he day. Then you know that everything you are doing is exactly what He wants you to be doing. And when you are that new creation? You now have spiritual eyes and ears, which means that you can read the Word, study the Word and understand it, because now it  is His love letter to you. And with those ears-open them to His voice. Don’t wait as late in life to even think to ask Him to speak to you, because He will. Remember He said “If you seek me, you will find me.”

One Response to “BORN AGAIN JOHN 3:3,5-6”

  1. Spirit-led words, Cindy! Thank you for highlighting the importance of Bible Study! By the way, your site looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

 
