CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

A WHOLE LOT OF TRIALS AND TRIBULATIONS- I PETER4: 12-19

Posted by cindyhfrench on 05/16/2012


Once again, I have heard over and over in the last few days of suffering Christians. It’s not just me in that desert, I keep talking about, it seems as if it is everybody. Listen to what the scripture says.

Dear friends, do not be surprised at the painful trial your suffering, as thought something strange were happening to you. But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed. If you are insulted because of the name of Christ, you are blessed, for the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you. If you suffer, it should not be as a nurderer or thief or any other kind of criminal, or even as a meddler. However, if you suffer as a Christian, do not be ashamed, but praise God that you bear that name. For it is time for judgment  to begin with the family of God; and if it begins with us, what will the outvome be for those who do not obey the gospel of God? And,  ‘if it is hard for the righteous to be saved, what will become of the ungodly sinner?’  So then, those who suffer according to God’s will should commit themselves to their faithful Creator and continue to do good.

Wow, you might need to read through that passage 2 or 3 times to get it. I did.  And what I read is simply a continuation on God’s telling me that I am not getting out of this desert I’m in, been in. That it wouldn’t be good for me. I need to be completely dependent on HIM. And you know when I am completely dependent? Of course, when I am suffering the most.  Now I don’t pretend to understand God’s ways and thoughts. I sure would have done a few things differently! But they would have been wrong, turned out wrong, because God’s way is always right even if you can’t see it when you are going through it. I have had to learn this over and over again. I have a stubborn streak that God has been working on since I was a little girl. I like to think I am a whole better about that than I used to be, but only the good Lord and my husband could really tell you for sure.

This passage in Peter is great for several reasons. First it tells us not to be surprised at our circumstances. I can’t begin to tell you though, how many people have said, ” if you belong to God, all you have to do is ask and it will all be given to you”. My question to them is what is the “all” that is being given to me? because it is not prosperity, or popularity, or  overwhelming success, or just good health, just reasonable financial health. Nope, nada, nein, non, no! I can not find any place in the Bible where it says that our God is obligated to give us a fairy tale life. In fact, just the opposite is the case. From the beginning of the Word of God, in the garden of Eden, once sin came into the world through Adam and Eve, all of mankind was relegated to that desert that I speak of. Of course I am not talking literally, but metaphorically.

This trial and tribulation problem has plagued man since then-believer and unbeliever alike.     It rains on the believer and unbelievers alike. Both have similar injuries and go to the same hospital. One recovers very quickly, one does not. Again, why does God? Where is He? Whydoesn’t He answer?

I do believe that God answers every prayed sincerely. You might not like the answer, but you will get one if you ask the Lord for it!–but sometimes, like me, he takes you out of your comfort zone. I am going to go out of mine, because I need to get better help for whatever is happening with my knee. That would keep me really incapasitated  for the most important  delivery in the mornings. Sometimes my granddaughters are here for a long weekend and it just wouldn’t look right to have fight them staying toether in my house. Anymore that it would have look to have left yyour left arm broken because you waneour light and door unlocked

 

9 Responses to “A WHOLE LOT OF TRIALS AND TRIBULATIONS- I PETER4: 12-19”

  1. Cindy, I just read this passage the other day, and it is one of my favorite from Peter. You know what most people don’t understand about Christians going through trials is that what God promises us is hope, hope to get through the trial as we hold his hand, and hope for an eternal future free of these earthly woes. We may not be healed here unless it is God’s Will for us, but in Heaven we will have new bodies. We may have sorrows in this life, but in Heaven our tears will be no more, for Christ will dry them all. We might suffer great pain and anguish or depression in this life, but in Heaven all that will be gone. We will be healed of all the heartache, all the sorrow, the worry and the sadness. Joy will be ours, and should we face death, or go in the Rapture, one thing is sure…our joy will come in the first morning in Heaven.

  2. Now…I have a suggestion to help you, because you said you need help with editing. Try using a Word Document to write out your blog first, then use the spelling and grammar check on its Tool bar. It will catch spelling errors for you, and even most grammar errors. Then copy and paste it to your New Post. That will help you alot, and let you see where you are having trouble. Besides it catches alot of the jumping that computers like to do while you are writing too. It often helps me, and besides I don’t lose it should the internet lock up or go on the fritz. Just an idea that might help.

  3. Cindy… the verses you point out in 1 Peter are wonderful verses indeed. Not only do we have to face the fact that, living in a fallen world guarantess we will all be faced with trials and difficulties. But also, that we will be rewarded for faithfully living our lives in spite of the difficulties we may face. This is a great reminder for us all. Lord bless you.

    (By the way I fully agree with forhisgloryandpraise’s suggestion. I, too, type out all my postings in a word processor and run all the grammar and spell checks then simply cut and paste the posting to the blog. It works our really well for me. )

  4. lbtk said

    Found you through Anne Sikes! You are not alone. Today has just been one of those days I needed to know that *I* was not in the desert alone. I don’t know if it’s the weather (it’s been raining for three days) or what it is. I love the scripture you used. Sandy

    • Thank you Sandy! yes, a lot of people have told me I’m not alone in the desert. It’s a shame I had to be as old as I am to learn this lesson! But I say, better late than never! Otherwise, I would always be asking, “when, Lord?” as I have before now. I am sure He is happy I finally got it. Now we will go to the next lesson. I have also found out, You are always learning new lessons, always being refined, sometimes gently, sometimes by fire, but always being changed towards holiness, towards His righteousness. He can’t have tarnished righteousness, can He? I am so glad you joined my little group. I am trying to figure out a way that we can all be online at the same time and be praising the Lord together and chatting together. I think it would promote even more learning and sharing between all. And I am intending to tell everyone to ask anyone they would want to come and join-unless there is a limit put on us. I know that Google has something online you can do like that. A meeting kind of like a chat room, but not. I am hoping everybody thinks that is a good, great, idea? What do you think?

  5. You are not alone and suffering is part of life on this earth. In heaven things will be perfect. Praying and asking for God to help is all one can do. He won’t fix our problems and make things easy because that’s not the lesson he wants us to learn. Discovering the true lessons in life are valuable. How are you feeling? Good luck with you leg.

    • the spells and leg twitching are better. the doc upped my mirapex. worked like a charm. she asked me if I wasn’t under a lot of stress and needed to talk to someone about it. That is funny. I have the best ONE in the Universe to talk over my stresses with and HE is the only one with any solutions-not doctors! they just sit, nod their heads and ask what you think!. What with the blog and and my great friends and encouragers and my Heavenly Father, I just don’t feel the need –I unload enough as it is, wouldn’t you say?
      But I am doing so much better-everybody who is hearing my voice is saying so. Thanks for asking.

      • I think you’re doing great considering all things you’re going through. How do you want to spend your time and energy? How can you trust after all you’ve been through? If you feel the blog is helpful and that works for you along with your spiritual life…do what works for you.

        If you ever want to give details you can put it on my blog or if you want it to be confidential write to my email address edithflickinger@yahoo.com. I’m trying to keep up and understand.

        Blessings,
        Edie

Leave a Reply

 
