CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

A New Truth–To Me Anyway Ist Peter 3, 4 & 5

Posted by cindyhfrench on 05/09/2012


Marble headstone of a couple buried together i...

Marble headstone of a couple buried together in Singapore, showing an arched emblem, signifying the reunification with one’s partner in heaven. Within the arch is a statue of Jesus Christ (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gee, that’s a lot of ground to cover and I don’t have a lot of time tonight either! But I so wanted to share what God is showing me in hopes that if you have not thought of or learned this particular lesson-maybe just knowing about it would lead you to study a little and save you from a lot of heartache and unreal expectations.

I read and hear often about what I’ll call the “prosperity gospel”. God meant for us to prosper-isn’t that what it says in Jeremiah 29:11? yes, but have you ever wondered what His idea of prosperity might be in comparison with yours?  And have you ever wondered why some of the poorest people are some of the happiest, most satisfied people in the Lord? I have!

Even as recently as last year, the first 2-3 months of this year, I thought that I was just “in the desert for awhile”.  Yes, this desert has been going on a long while now, but I always thought I’d come out the other side-like the Israelites did when they reached the Promised Land. Except what did they have to do then? They had to go in and win the land and clear it out per Jehovah’s instructions. There was no rest for the weary! In fact, if you are a student of the Word and you know Israel’s history, when have they ever really “come out of the desert into prosperity and had no worries, no problems holding on to any of it?”  I think the answer to that is “NEVER”

So then we come to the story of Jesus Christ. How God’s Son became flesh and came into our world and walked this earth. When did He have it easy? From the moment of His birth-The King of the Universe/Creator of All Things-was born in a stable. Not very clean, not very comfortable and not long after His birth, His mother and Joseph her husband were fleeing for their lives with a new born across-yes?-a desert! And as Jesus grows in Nazareth as a child, does He have an cushy life of a King? No, his “father'” is a carpenter-very physical labor. I would imagine, a lot harder than that of today. Even later as Jesus began His ministry, did He own anything? get taken care of, carried everywhere? Of course not! Jesus was followed; He was hounded, tormented, criticized, everywhere He went. And yet, the Bible says everytime He looked at the multitudes, He had compassion and love for them and made every effort to heal everyone who needed healing and fix anything that could be and those that couldn’t even by raising  the dead.

Of course we all know where this story goes—right to the cross! There have recently been some magnificent posts written on Jesus’ actual suffering from the beatings to the actual crucfiction. That is not my purpose tonight. My purpose in my long, drawn out way is to offer the possibility that we are not to expect OUR version of Prosperity! I can’t find it anywhere in the Word. What I did find is that from the beginning Jesus’ people have experienced suffering. It says we shall suffer as He suffered. No prosperity there. (the world’s idea of it!) We are to follow in His footsteps.

So you are asking now so where is 1st Peter in all this? There is a place of suffering in the Christian life. You can’t get around it. There are lot’s of kinds of suffering of course. God knows exactly though what will refine you, mold you, make you holy and fit for that day when you are redeemed. You see that is the KEY. GOD KNOWS. You will never get your mind around it, understand it or explain it. You might as well give up and accept it! Let me tell you, I wish I had given up long ago! Thanks be to God that He Never Gives Up and is always there patiently waiting.

So now I know that trials and tribulations are a natural thing of the day. ..but hardship is a blessing in itself; it shows that we are Christ’s and belong to Him. Suffering is also a blessing because of the opportunity it gives to demontrate the strength of God’s grace in both words and by life! So many people have said to me that they are so sorry for all I have had to go through. I reply and I mean this from the bottom of my heart,  that I would do it again, rather than not have the lessons, the fellowship, the RELATIONSHIP that I now have with Jesus Christ, the Son of the Living God, Who Is and Was and Is To Come!

Jesus!!

 

 

6 Responses to “A New Truth–To Me Anyway Ist Peter 3, 4 & 5”

  1. Wonderful post, Cindy and I wholeheartedly agree with a big Amen!

    • Thank you Dee. He is writing this-because I truly think I am going to write this and when I am finished it is that-does that happen to you?

      Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 (cell) 813.390.8791 (Office direct dial) 813.926.9390 (corp vm) 813.264.7165 x120 (Fax) 813.968.6450 cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins “Good to Great”

  2. In the second last paragraph the part that you say.”God knows what will refine you, mold you make you holy and fit for the day you are redeemed’ speaks to me.Although I went through so much during my depression I knew God allowed it for a reason…that there were things yet I had to learn…and your reasoning makes that abundantly clear to me …..Diane

    • Diane, these of course are hard won lessons! And as we spoke things I am still going through and learning. But I know truth when I read in scripture and He is working it out in me and this these books of James and Peter were so clear. Glad you could see it for you.

      Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 (cell) 813.390.8791 (Office direct dial) 813.926.9390 (corp vm) 813.264.7165 x120 (Fax) 813.968.6450 cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins “Good to Great”

  3. Steven said

    Hi Ms Cindy, very well said! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
