CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

The Tongue Problem and Other Things

Posted by cindyhfrench on 04/26/2012


If you read James 3: 1-12 which is too long of a passage for me to print here, this is a section for practical living. The only problems are that while the tongue is small, its ability to do evil is almost unimaginable. The other problem is that without  God’s grace, you will never control your tongue! I went back and re-read the passage again to be sure I had that right. Think about it. The tongue has great power and potential for doing great things or causing catastrophes.  I can remember many a time, when that tongue of mine lashed out at someone or some incident that I was unhappy with. The things that come out of the mouth even today sometimes shock me–and I quickly have to ask forgiveness–of my Holy Father, of whoever is around that might have heard me–even the cloud of witnesses. I am so sorry.  Just like James 3:9 tells us: one minute we are praising God and the next minute we can turn around and curse a person.

You would think with my voice being healed by God that I would be immune to this. It is HIS voice after all-but my tongue and heart really control the voice–and God says that our hearts are desperately wicked. So this is my prayer-That my heart would be so full of Jesus ALL the time, that there would be no place for any wickedness or thought, so that this voice that He has given back to me is a voice that can ONLY give praises and have good reports to say about anyone or anything or any situation…because I realize that when I complain, when I do not trust, then,  I am really being disobedient.  His Word does say “in everything give thanks”  and that “we are to trust in the Lord with all our hearts, minds and souls”.

Perhaps this is a widespread problem-I don’t know. But I do know that this weighs heavily on my heart and I felt the need to share my need for prayer in this particular area of my life. If your tongue goes wild and crazy on you, let me know and we’ll pray together as Jesus told us, if two or more are gathered together in my Name, there I will be also.

And last, but not least, I actually went looking for a picture of a tongue sticking out for this post! You would not believe the pictures I saw, nor the articles accompanying them. I had no idea that “pictures of tongues sticking out” is the new marketing craze. And what they are conveying!  Surely this post is timely! What God gives me is never just for me, but for everyone I share with!

Blessings and I love you with the love of the Lord.

4 Responses to “The Tongue Problem and Other Things”

  1. Surely the problem of the tongue is a universal problem. Thank you for this post, Cindy, it is a blessing as well as an exhortation of love.

    • Why thank you! I wasn’t sure how it would be received! But it was on my heart and that’s what came out.

      Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 (cell) 813.390.8791 (Office direct dial) 813.926.9390 (corp vm) 813.264.7165 x120 (Fax) 813.968.6450 cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins “Good to Great”

  2. I really enjoyed this post. It’s so true that even though the tongue is unique and small it’s “ability to do evil is almost unimaginable”, and at the same time it usually does great things. I try to take control as well as others but on the receiving end of these evil things it’s a horrific situation and destroys relationships…sometimes forever. I will pray.

  3. I can tell a difference today! in my speech, in my reaction speech too! in fact the one slip I had was so loud and clangy that I stopped and thought no more and so far so good. I really really want to break this habit. it’s not like I am so profane, but it’s not right, it’s not the best words, its not what Jesus would say. And that’s what is important to me now.
    thank you too for your blog. I am getting an education on so much.
    there is so much out there that I want to read and meditate on and not enough time to do it. So I carve out the times and I am getting better with the regular blogging thanks to all of ya’ll that follow and your wonderful encouragement and prayers. I honestly can tell the difference in my life, my business, even my fatigue that has been with me for so long is so much better. Yes I am sure the IGG infusions are part of that-but the prayers are absolutely essential now!

Leave a Reply

 
