CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

Proverbs 3:5-6

Posted by cindyhfrench on 10/27/2011


Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not to your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.

Have you ever read a scripture so many times that you are sure of its meaning until you read it one more time–and then God turns you on your ear and says, “no, this is what it means?” Well this is one of those times. I was doing my Bible study lesson and reading about Peter, the Apostle and how God prepared Peter to meet and then preach and baptize Gentiles-something that as a proper Jew he would have never done-to do so would have been to become unclean. But God showed Peter a better way.

God could speak to him and show him a better way because Peter lived in close communion with Him. He was heavily involved in all of the church work at Jerusalem, but he never let it take away from his time with God in prayer. OH That Lesson Right There Is For Me! but there is more. Peter knew that God would choose the places for him to work and to preach, to testify of Jesus. So Here is The Real Kicker For Me–Do I choose what I will do and then expect God to bless it because it is good, beneficial work, or “Christian work”.  Or do I pray first so that God can tell me where He wants me to work  and when He wants me to do it.  Is this not the most important lesson I can learn and re-learn? Because when I do this, WHATEVER the work is, He blesses it enormously, and if I don’t ask-forget to ask, He blesses, but not as much. Because it isn’t doing the right, best thing He wanted done.

How marvelous are the scriptures when you just take a little time with them. This so reminds me of my Mama. She was a Bible student. I almost never saw her reading a “regular book”. She always said there wasn’t enough time to learn all that she needed to know-and this was the best Book to teach her. I am ashamed to say she nagged me a bit about it and at that time of my life  I wasn’t so interested in the things of God or what He had to say to me. It’s interesting that God gives us just enough rope to get into trouble, but He never lets go of us.  That time of my life that I went  through-when everything I touched was gold and I didn’t have a care in the world–I didn’t know what was coming down the pike! But God had a plan for me-to refine me and make me more like Jesus-to make me His witness to all those He was going to bring into my world. It was a lot of work for Him, but He says” He will accomplish that which He has started in us”. And I had given him my heart when I was twenty, so He had every right to begin the work in me…unfortunately for me and for most of us, that work will continue until we meet Him face to face some day.  And I say unfortunately, because the work is HARD, it is being stripped down naked and refinished by the Father, but with every little gain, “I can say oh, this was worth it!”

4 Responses to “Proverbs 3:5-6”

  1. Cindy LeBlanc said

    I love it when the scriptures speak new, fresh truth to me. Love your blog!

  2. This is my life verse. thanks i like it!

    • thanks for the encouragement. that is a great life verse. My life verse is II Cor 1:4. Check it out. In fact I think I wrote a blog about it some time this spring. If you can’t find it, let me know and I will write about finding it and why it is so important to me.

Leave a Reply

 
