CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

Acts 8 and 9

Posted by cindyhfrench on 10/23/2011


This year we are studying the Acts of the Apostles. I am been amazed at how present day these verses are for us, for me. Acts 8, the Apostles and believers began to scatter due to persecution after the stoning of Stephen. But those who scattered, preached the Word wherever they went. I believe that by forcing the believers out of Jerusalem, they witnessed for Christ throughout Judea and Samaria and eventually to the world.

Disruption and displacement in life are usually painful, but the new place can expand into new work and new effectiveness. What change is happening in your life right now? Have you ever considered your present trial as an opportunity for expansion? I had to look at that question and really think about it as I was asked. I don’t think I have thought all my trials and circumstances were an opportunity to go somewhere different, maybe have a different ministry. I have never thought about it like that. But now that I have, I see that there are so many other parts of my life Jesus wants to work on besides this old body! yes He has used it to teach me things–about idols, about tithing, about being thankful and satisfied–yes I have learned my lessons well. Yet I do see there is so much more to learn–so much more about the Word and even how the Holy Spirit works, so much more about what I am to do vs just praying. Not that prayer is not important. That will never go away from me; it’s how the Father and I communicate. But I am reading about ACTS and DOING and feeling like He is going to be telling me what new thing I need to do.

As I was reading about Paul’s time in the desert for 3 years with the Lord, I realized earlier tonight that I too have been in the desert with the Lord for about 3 1/2 years now. He told me in a dream that I was going to go through the hardest times of my life, but that He would be with me every step of the way and sometimes would even have to carry me…and yes, He has. As I re-read some of my early 2009 posts forward, I see that indeed I have been changed. So maybe that time is coming to an end. I certainly hope so!!  I hope that I am ready to walk through whatever new door He wants to open for me. All I know is that I wouldn’t go back to the person I once was. I am so thankful that God never lets go of us-regardless of whether we let go of Him–and that He will accomplish His purpose. ” And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

One Response to “Acts 8 and 9”

  1. Wow! I have been touched by the Holy Spirit reading your words. You mentioned the desert in relation to Paul’s travels with the Lord. I just came out of mine – and now, am entering a new season full of different trials. I have realized that I, too, have changed, and do not desire to be the person I once was.

    I owe 100% of that to God. Thank you for that blessing. I absolutely love the thought of our present trails being an opportunity for expansion.

    I had to subscribe to your blog. Your writing style is beautiful – and the impact of the Word on your life is magnificent!

Leave a Reply

 
