CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

God’s Work in the Hospital

Posted by Cindy H French on 06/26/2011


My first night, I woke up needing a breathing treatment. I had a really nice nurse and she sat with me while I got settled down. I told her of my daughter Laurel who had called to let me know she was feeling called into full time Christian service in Venezuela to a group called the Jonas Project. These are small boys who have been taken off the streets who have been abused, prostituted, into drug use, abandoned–you name it. The project people take these boys and give them schooling, room and board and tell them about Jesus. When I told the nurse about this-she knew about the PROJECT-in fact her church supports it! She asked that my Laurel come and talk with them about her calling. And later, when her husband came to pick her up, he came in to tell me about a Bible college-Crown College in Tn that she should check out as she will need training! Wow! at 3:30 in the morning.

Then my tech came in next and  she asked me how I had spent the weekend. I told her of my successful garage sale. She asked if I were selling a sofa. I was, but it hadn’t sold. She bought it. What a blessing that was for me!

On Monday I got a roommate whose husband was with her. Soon we were talking about our similar illnesses and how we coped. Very quickly God came into the conversation. They both professed Jesus as their Savior, but admitted to some major addictions.  Off and on as we spoke (the roommate and I) I just shared scripture as God gave it to me. In the middle of the night, when again I was taking a breathing treatment and then she was, I was reading in my Bible and thought the Lord might have a Word for me. But no, the word was for my roommate! I read her scriptures from 4 different passages as God led me along. Together, based on our earlier talk, we knew this was specifically for her. Amazing! I wrote it all down for her since she didn’t have her Bible with her. The first thing she did the next day was share it with her husband.

Tuesday came and I knew my stats had been good and that I was going home. I did a little work on my laptop before the doctor came and he said he wanted me to walk around the floor with a pulse ox to monitor my oxygen level to make sure it didn’t go down below 90. Otherwise I would have had to go home with oxygen.  He had a student nurse walk with me. Just a few minutes into our walk, she asked me if she could ask me a question. Of course was my answer. She asked me “aren’t you afraid when you have those asthma attacks?” Well if you read my writing about the night of May 5th, you know my answer!! So we just finished the story when we got back to my room. She asked if she could hug me. Of course, I answered, and you must be a believer too! She said, “I am” I asked if I could tell her one more story…so I told her of learning to pray. Of reading in Isaiah 37 of King Hezekiah and his prayer to the Lord, and then Nehemiah 1 and his prayer to the Lord and to all the prophets and how they prayed–which was so different than the way I prayed. And she admitted how she prayed. So I asked her to pray like they prayed for the next 2 weeks and when petitioning, to be very, very specific. And then to watch what God would do. At the end of that time, a book called the Papa Prayer by Larry Crabb might make some sense to her.

My youth pastor stepped into my room as she left. He told me I didn’t look sick. I explained that God’s work was done and I was going home. He said the other pastors told me about you–what’s been happening? So I told him some and then he asked what I needed. “I need rest and no asthma attacks for awhile; we’re moving.” I replied.  He said that the pastors did lift me up in prayer everyday-how wonderful is that? and he has teenagers–could they help us move boxes? So looks like all of the stuff we won’t get done this weekend, they will be available to load and bring to the new house on Tuesday. What a blessing!

2 Responses to “God’s Work in the Hospital”

  1. What a wonderful way God used you during ‘your crisis’…It must have been wonderful and I’m sure humbling to be used in that way….Diane

    • Well, Diane, if you keep reading you will see me asking Him to please give me a break from it. I am not all sweetness and light! When I had the brain tumor things in Sept and Dec of 09-I told God I wasn’t even going to tell anybody anything like I normally do- I thought that He was absolutely going to the nth degree to let me have anything weird like that and right on the heels of everything else! I shook my fist and said no I will not open my mouth. Oh but my Father knows me better than I do. Because my first 2 calls that morning were from people who had brain tumors!! Now, mind you, I had never spoken to anyone with a brain tumor except my mother in my life until that point in time. And there were 2 of them! One of them is a now a dear friend. One who was a practicing attorney is doing something else and very pleasant these days and we still keep in touch as well. When I got off the phone with each of them, I just raised my hands in defeat and in praise. I am humbled and honored that He will use me. But He will use anyone who is willing. That’s all you have to be is willing. He will be the voice of wisdom, to teach, to lead, to tell. He is always all that You or I or anybody needs.

      Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 (cell) 813.390.8791 (Office direct dial) 813.926.9390 (corp vm) 813.264.7165 x120 (Fax) 813.968.6450 cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins “Good to Great”

Leave a Reply

 
