CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

Another New Year!

Posted by cindyhfrench on 01/02/2011


Survival, that’s what 2010 was about. That and hopefully starting a turnaround. Not just in business, but in life and all it touches. I will be 60 this year in June! I hope to celebrate with my sisters in St Simon. I hear all the time that your years are just a number and you are only as old as you feel, but I know that a certain amount of my energy, my will is gone. Sucked out of me by the stroke or the continuing health issues? Whatever it is, I can honestly say I will never be just what I once was. But then I look at that person and I am not sure I would want to go back to her either! Business ruled just about my every thought and was impossible to “turn off”. My corporate standings were always on my mind. Money wasn’t an issue (gee, that was nice) but again at what real cost of my spirit?

After 12 years of haphazard half done Bible studies, I have spent the last 5 years committed to formal study and what a change it is affecting! Continuous changes in me and hopefully my thoughts, behavior, work ethic, treatment of others sometimes surprise me and fill me with hope that God can and is working through me. One of my study passages in Isaiah 30: 20-21 “Althought the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, your teachers will be hidden no more…Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, this is the way, walk in it.”  Surely this is God reassuring me of the last 2 very hard years, yet his promise for leading for my future. Happy New Year!

2 Responses to “Another New Year!”

  1. Hi Cindy, that passage is a message for me also. God bless you. I know God has good things planned for you this year. We just need to keep our eyes on the source of our strength no matter what else happens with this perishing world! God bless you!

  2. Katty said

    That’s the smart thinking we could all befniet from.

Leave a Reply

 
