CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

Mega High School Reunion

Posted by cindyhfrench on 09/12/2010


I spent last weekend in Atlanta attending a high school reunion of 10 graduating classes. What a blast! I was able to see people I hadn’t seen in 41 years-those that didn’t make it to last year’s 69er’s party. But the best thing was running into people from the year before me including an old boyfriend that broke my heart and never acknowledged it! He sought ME out. I would have never recognized him! It’s amazing how most of the guys changed so much, but most of us girls just got older, and we still look pretty good!

I was on prednesone again as I had the asthma issue rear it’s ugly head Tuesday before I left on Thursday. Of course the only way to go was to be back on my meds. Still I wasn’t started at the high dose I usually am, so I did “ok” until I started decelerating the dosage. The funny thing was how my kids have turned into the parents! Both nights I got a call at 10:30 to “check on me” and “what time would I be home”. Geez, you’d think I was 14, not 59! I know to take care of myself. I am the one who pays so dearly if I don’t, so I am careful. I got home at 11 and then 12 on the 2nd night after the chance to do some dancing-what a great, great dance band we had and all 60’s, early  70’s music.

What was so surprising about the whole weekend was that God closed my mouth-I mean totally no opening or opportunity to share my love of Jesus and what He’s done for me! I so expected that surely in the drive up or back with a classmate from Gainesville, that there would be time to talk and share. And though there was the time, there was no opportunity, no leading! How very interesting! Well, we intend to stay in touch so we’ll see what happens in the future. But by and large, it was an awesome weekend and worth my hard work (on  the steering committee).

Leave a Reply

 
