CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

Prayer

Posted by cindyhfrench on 08/29/2010


prayer..

prayer.. (Photo credit: aronki)

I was struck that our first part of worship should be prayer. It should be a priority in our lives and a natural reflex…but is it really? Do I go immediately to HIM when I have lost a deal, a candidate, a client? When I have a bill I haven’t expected? When I don’t feel well? I think I do some of the time-when I am really desperate, but over and over as my day unfolds? Sometimes yes, sometimes no.We are studying the Guardians at our church on Sunday mornings. This morning the passage was from I Timothy 2:1-6. This is a letter written to Timothy by Paul, the apostle, for instruction. He says ” I urge you, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone. (This is Jew and Gentile and Heathen alike)…This is good and pleases God our Saviour who wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth. (wants means intense desire). For there is one God and One mediator between God and men, the man Jesus Christ, who gave himself as a ransom for all men…

I think that a lot of how my prayer life goes-and life in general-depends on if I meet Jesus in the morning at our regular meeting time. How often I have skipped that time-more sleep, too busy, not enough time-lots of excuses. But you know, I always show up when I have a business meeting scheduled. I thought this morning, is Jesus not more important than any CEO I might meet? The scripture says that God has an intense desire to see us “saved” and to come to the knowledge of the truth. It also says that the very truth will set me (us) free.  And isn’t that what the world is searching for–freedom of expression, to do what they want? But what if that very truth says live this way and I will fill your life up and overflowing. That’s the kind of result  of freedom that I want.

Leave a Reply

 
