CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

A New One for God’s Kingdom

Posted by Cindy H French on 07/18/2010


As we are on hiatus for GriefShare for the summer, I just get calls from those who call in for counseling or help. Last month, I had a call from a young woman who had  lost her husband in March, just 3 months before. She was getting Hospice counseling, but still not coping well. I briefly told her some of my story about how I had come to know Jesus in a personal way and then asked her for her story.  She replied that she must have just assimilated it all from being in church all her life. I told her, “it’s ok, we’ll just start from scratch”. We arranged to meet at a Starbucks at the hospital where she worked-after, yes, another doctor’s appointment for me. Little did I know what God had in store for me!!

We got together and quickly talked through our hellos, how are you doing this week?-not well-ok we’ll talk about the Great Comforter. From there I went right into reading together from a little booklet I have called the Four Spiritual Laws. (I’ll detail them in my next post for those not familiar) While going through the scriptures and the Laws, my new friend came to see that she had to ask Jesus to come into her life, she wasn’t just born with Him; He didn’t just join her one day in church. My Lord Jesus is a gentleman. He even says in scripture (Rev 3:20) Behold I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and will open the door and invite me in, then I will come in and will stay with him. When we came to the sample prayer, she immediately wanted to pray-and pray aloud she did-asking Jesus into her heart right there in Starbucks!

Our conversation then went on to the Trinity and the Great Comforter, the Holy Spirit who now lives inside us. And really what a true Comfort He will be now that He is in her. The ways to go to Him and count on Him. Right now, at this stage of her life, the precious holy Comforter is the most important part of her life.

So after 2 hours or so we went our separate ways, promising to talk regularly, get together at church, and the importance of her baptism.  I knew of course that  I had done nothing but be there and open my mouth. That God had spoken all the words to bring her to Him. But what a tremendous blessing it was to me to be used like that.

Leave a Reply

 
