CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

A Miracle

Posted by cindyhfrench on 05/08/2010


After 18 months of no voice and trying everything my doctors knew to try, I was told I wasn’t going to get my voice back. My doctor suggested I go on disability.  Dennis and I met with my boss and he said “you can’t afford that. You just keep coming in and inspiring us with your trying to work. I’ll keep paying you and keep your benefits”  How awesome was that? By then I had gone back to work as much as I could.  I whispered or sounded pretty horrible depending on what sound I could get out, but I was no longer really isolated. I still didn’t eat in public, but my positive attitude was back and I had joined Bible Study Fellowship on Thursdays and so was back in a formal Bible study which I had not been in for a number of years. It is amazing what being in God’s Word on a regular basis will do to your spirit! I didn’t realize that God was really working in my life, but He was. A lot of people commented on my attitude or happiness or joy that I seemed to have in spite of the voice. I found that I was sharing my faith more as a result. And it was so simple, flowed so easily because people asked me.

I still couldn’t accept my doctor’s diagnosis. No voice forever? So I took a page from James (New Testament) where it was if any are sick, you are to gather the elders and pastors together and they are to anoint the sick one with oil and then pray. I asked my pastors to do the same for me.  God is still in the business of miracles, because He gave me my voice back! It is huskier and lower pitched and I have to protect it with just how much I use it in a day, but I talk with a “normal” voice! My doctor couldn’t believe it when I went back to him, but he is a believer and knows a miracle when he sees one! He says I am a walking, talking miracle!

The coolest thing is that this has only added to my story of God’s care for me. Those who know me and who have gone through this with me know absolutely that there is no medical basis for me to be able to speak, but I do.  I can’t sing anymore though and I miss it, but someday, I’ll be in the heavenly choir singing praises to the King.!

2 Responses to “A Miracle”

  1. Wonderful blog! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the details are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which ought to do the trick! Have a nice day!

  2. Thanks so much for your lovely comments. I have been so busy with my work lately, I haven’t taken the time to update things, but hopefully soon. If the way you signed up for alerts doesn’t work, I thought there was a place to hit for subscribe. Let me know, I am new at this. Again, thanks for the comments.

    Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 (cell) 813.390.8791 (v) 813.264.7165 x120 (Hm.Office) 813.926.9390 (Fax) 813.968.6450 cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins “Good to Great”

Leave a Reply

 
