CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

New Fish and Salsa Recipe

Posted by cindyhfrench on 04/04/2010


My anti-inflamatory diet has a lot of fish and seafood as ingredients. I needed to find something more interesting for Tilapia than just sautéing it or oven baking it! Since fruit is also a large part of this diet, I decided to put the two together! To do that, I looked through lot’s of fruit and fish/fruit salsa recipes and decided to combine and add as I had. Hope you enjoy!

1-to 1 /2 lbs of Tilapia

salt and pepper and garlic powder to taste over the fish

Place fish in pan lined with foil. Make the salsa:

1/3 chopped papaya

1 chopped mango

1/2 of banana pepper, seeded and diced

1/3 of small red onion diced or 1/4 if you don’t like a lot of raw onion

1/4 of small hot pepper (any kind) minus seeds and diced, again to taste

pineapple chunks-maybe a 1/4 cup

watermelon chunks-maybe a 1/4 cup

cilantro, just a few finely chopped leaves

juice of one lemon/strained

juice of one lime/strained

Mix all together and then pour over fish. Cover tightly with second layer of foil and cook 20 min @ 400 degrees.

I have also tried this salsa as a side dish with fish-so raw, not cooked. It is awesome! I have upped the amounts so that I make more at a time. It keeps well in the fridge, so if you have fish twice a wk, you’ve got it made already! It seems to get better with age.

This is great with brown rice made with either vegetable or chicken stock instead of water and whatever greens you’d like to serve.

 Read my blog at CindyFrenchblog and find out why I need this diet and how eating right helps!

One Response to “New Fish and Salsa Recipe”

  1. I thought that was extremeley interesting. Thanks for the unusual information. I’ll keep following this.

Leave a Reply

 
