CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

Today’s Blessings

Posted by cindyhfrench on 10/30/2009


I continue to be amazed at how my BSF Bible study of the gospel of John and my GriefShare workbook and peoples’ need intertwine! This could only be a God thing! What I study for the week and learn during the morning on Thursdays is so applicable to our Thursday night meetings for GriefShare. Tonight was one of our best nights, because we (the leaders) watched the group help each other. We talked about real progression from where we all were 9 wks ago and who is sharing and talking today. And what concrete needs, physical needs we have that we can help each other with. I am so humbled by what God is doing! At some time we are ALL going to grieve for someone. That is life. What most people don’t realize is that grieving is a process-and that you have to go through the process. You have to take the time to grieve. If you do not, it will come back on you in some way, some how in the future. GriefShare is just that-sharing our grief, regardless of what loved one died. Processes for moving forward in a good way, not pushing it down and ignoring it as so many do.

Sometimes people are mad at God. How can a good, loving God take their loved one away? Sometimes there are no answers, but I can promise that God will bring good things out of the bad times. Sometimes, that one good thing is all you have to cling to when you are so desolate, but God absolutely will meet you where you are if you will call out to Him. He is just waiting for that call-He will wait your whole life for that call if necessary.

I was reflecting this week on this past year and the changes in my life since my parents died last year. I too have looked for the “good things”. And really there are so many. I’m now involved in a ministry that is helping other grieving people. People have come to know the Lord personally as a result. This is absolutely not something I would have sought out for any other reason.  My relationships with my siblings and spouses is closer and I have watched as they have grown closer together and to the Lord in their own search for that “one good thing”.  My mom’s spiritual gift was evangelism. There wasn’t anybody, anywhere that she wouldn’t share her faith with. If the refrigerator broke down, she’d just know that the repairman was going to meet Jesus that day! Now I have to say that I haven’t gone that far, but I know that God brings people into my sphere for a reason-and I am always willing to share His love and grace with anyone that  is interested. This  urgency is new this last year. I don’t know how God does that exactly, but I feel like the mantle has been passed on to me. I don’t bring up the conversation, HE does. I just give HIM permission every morning to do so! Maybe that is the difference. I am available.

One thing that my parents left was a legacy. All their six children know the Lord Jesus personally. All but one of the 10 grandchildren that are old enough to have made a personal decision to trust in Jesus have also. I am sure that the others will come along as will my grandchildren someday as they too are being taught about Jesus. Deuteronomy says that we are to teach our children at all times-sitting down, mealtimes, walking-whatever we are doing-we should be teaching them about Jesus and His love and His sacrifice for us.  I wasn’t all that great at following those directions in raising my girls, but I thank God everyday that what little I did say or do and all the praying I’ve done since I got over my “God mad” has made such a difference in their lives. Now I have my 3 granddaughters to pray for and to teach. Like I said BLESSINGS!

7 Responses to “Today’s Blessings”

  1. When we raised our children we did talk about God in everyday living and all professed their belief in our denomination…during ‘Confirmation’.

    One of our children definitely has God in his mind and heart each and every day in all things. His son thinks on Godly things but I don’t know if he’s made up his mind just what he believes

    Our other two however are in a ‘busyness’ of life …our son whose 3 children are in their 20’s and he has 2 step children from his second wife’s first marriage.. In their busy lives they haven’t dismissed God but aren’t really making Him part of every day life. And their children while we speak of God to them and with them..I don’t know what their spiritual thoughts are..

    Our daughter…while I know that she believes, I don’t know how much she talks to her children about God. She is not that approachable to find out because she and I have had issues in the past. I believe that she saw me as ‘weak’ because of my depression and other issues…and set out to be the most independent and outspoken individual I think I know. She has let me know when I have said something she didn’t like or agree with in an abrasive manner… We are working ‘I think’ for the past year or so to have a better relationship.

    I also have 1 great-granddaughter who is 3.

    I wrote a blog on my feelings of wanting to feel like reaching out more openly with my grandchildren and yet hesitating to ‘push’. I called it ‘What did you say Nana’.. I didn’t link it and don’t want to leave what I’ve written now or I won’t remember what I’ve written to you. I think I wrote it in March or April of 2012.

    And so I pray for each of their salvation and know God wants that and so it will happen.

    I’ve made this long but you touched a cord of family and knowing the Lord…Diane

    • Oh Yes!!Diane, do I know what you are talking about and feeling! You see, my life verse is II Cor 1:4 Everything I have experienced whether it is physical or whether a childhood or adult exp there is a reason for it. I have learned a lesson from it, turned around and taught it or shared the same feelings with someone else. That is why I write- believe it or not I haven’t shared everything. There are just some things I am still coming to grips with-some that I don’t know if I can share in a public forum or not, but I will tell you that I was sexually abused by a neighborhood teenager when I was a child. It did really do a number on me-so I know where people come from in that realm as well. I just don’t talk about it.

      Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 (cell) 813.390.8791 (Office direct dial) 813.926.9390 (corp vm) 813.264.7165 x120 (Fax) 813.968.6450 cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins “Good to Great”

  2. There are some things also I won’t put on because of family..I wouldn’t want to hurt any one of them, so I refer to certain things as ‘difficult times’ etc.

    I blog with some that have been through sexual abuse and depression or another mental issue, and while I have not suffered that way I try to be an encouragement just to say they can at some point persevere and be healed.

    I notice ‘Odessa Florida’ at the bottom of your comment. I wish I had known you earlier as my husband and I just drove to Florida a couple of weeks ago and passed Odessa…. Diane

    • Me too. I am sure there will be another time tho. Where do you live?

      Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 (cell) 813.390.8791 (Office direct dial) 813.926.9390 (corp vm) 813.264.7165 x120 (Fax) 813.968.6450 cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins “Good to Great”

      • We live in a small town about one hour east of Toronto Ontario….I tried to bring some sunshine and warmth back with me but alas I lost it somewhere lol

        p.s. I looked up 2 Corinthians 1:4 and that is a wonderful scripture to try and live your life by…… Diane

      • Ahhh ;you are my Canada connection! Diane, I don’t know how this works exactly. But because of you and maybe others that came on this weekend, the WHOLE MAP of CANADA is RED in my stats dashboard! I’ve never even had the whole US be colored before!

        Yes, I love the verse. The Lord took me there when He was explaining to me about my “PERFECT BODY” yes, I agree! I told Him that He hadn’t done such a good job in making me-I mean when you have read all my posts-you won’t believe what all I have had done to my body! And …well I’ll let you read about it. It’s much more fun that way.

        Another scripture He has given me just this year is Ephesians 6:19. I am truly trying to practice that one as I am working on recruiting my attorneys all over the country-they do talk to me about everything and I am so ready to share with them.

        Cindy French, CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 (cell) 813.390.8791 (Office direct dial) 813.926.9390 (corp vm) 813.264.7165 x120 (Fax) 813.968.6450 cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins “Good to Great”

      • Eph 6: 19…that is one I would like to claim …Diane

Leave a Reply

 
