CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

This Week, Tough, Except For God’s Whispering

Posted by cindyhfrench on 09/26/2009


I am in the recruitng business-have been since 1979–starting in Atlanta and then here in Tampa with MRI. I have always loved what I do: helping people, making a positive difference in their lives. Until this year, I have specialized in all things real estate and did well, but we all know that the market is really dead right now in development and construction for both residential and commercial. I’ve asked God many times if there was something else He wanted me to do, but the answer has always been no. This year, I asked what else I could do-industry wise-as I am still the major breadwinner for our household. I was surprised as He has led me to recruitng/placing attorneys! I had placed Real Estate attorneys before and in marketing them, I kept getting asked if I could find people for other practices. So here I am talking to people across the United States for different firms. I have chosen firms that are all about life balance and who won’t tolerate “attitudes”. So why was this week tough? Because I wasn’t getting positive response from any of my recruiting calls! Yet, I knew that I had a really special opportunity for the people I was seeking. I knew that God had someone for these firms. Who? Where?

This is where the devotionals and the prayers and God’s whispering come in. I try and have a short quiet time, reading a daily devotional and the Word each morning to start the day. Besides that, this week, because of dire circumstances, I was also praying with and for my sister and for me. For relief, for answers, for help, for open hearts for those I call. And I mean on your face on the floor prayer! I am going to share 2 devotionals exactly as written because they both have had such an impact-I don’t know the authors, but thank you for writing! Thank you God, for making sure that we would read these on the most needed and appropriate days…

1. Grow strong in your weakness. Some of my children I have gifted with abundant strength and stamina. Others, like you, have received the humble gift of frailty. Your frailty is not a punishment nor does it indicate a lack of faith. On the contrary, weak ones like you must live by faith, depending on Me to get you through the day. I am developing your ability to trust Me, to lean on Me, rather than on your own understanding. Your natural preference is to plan out your day, knowing what will happen, when. My preference is for you to depend on Me continually, trusting Me to guide you and strengthen you as needed. This is how you grow strong in your weakness.

2. Trust Me and refuse to worry, for I am your Strength and Song. You are feeling wobbly this morning, looking at difficult times looming ahead, measuring them against your own strength. However, they are not today’s tasks-or even tomorrow’s. So leave them in the future and come home to the present, where you will find Me waiting for you. Since I am your Strength, I can empower you to handle each task as it comes. Because I am your Song, I can give you joy as you work alongside Me. Keep bringing your mind back to the present moment. Among all creatures, only humans can anticipate future events. This ability is a blessing, but it becomes a curse whenever is is misused. If you use your magnificient mind to worry about tomorrow, you cloak yourself in dark belief. However, when the hope of heaven fills your thoughts, the Light of My Presence envelops you. Though heaven is future, is is also present tense. As you walk in the Light with Me, you have one foot in heaven and one foot on earth.

There have been many others this week that certainly spoke to me, but none more than these two. I could hear God whispering to me “This is important. Pay attention!” as I read them. And re-read them. And then shared them with others. And you know what, the more I read, the more I believed, the more I shared. And then things began to happen as God is so delighted to hear us and then answer us. Are all the problems, issues resolved? No. But for the first time in a long time, there is light at the end of the tunnel. It is wonderful to watch as He leads and makes His plan work! I know all this in my head-it’s my heart that has to be beaten on regularly!

One Response to “This Week, Tough, Except For God’s Whispering”

  1. cocotoday said

    Cindy
    I just spent the last hour reading your blog from the first post to the last. I am impressed by how you are able to share your stories in such a fluid way. I also enjoyed how the past and present were intersecting. I am sure that this site will be extremely encouraging to anyone who reads it. Your life and experiences are easy to connect with on many levels and your honest relationship with your Lord is a true expression of someone who is living authentically through the course of her days and years. I am looking forward to recieving your post on a regular basis.
    Colleen

Leave a Reply

 
