CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

Home again

Posted by cindyhfrench on 09/13/2009


There is nothing quite like your own bed! That was what I said as soon as I laid down after checking out of the hospital. She, who is always there for me, had stayed overnight at the hospital. suffering through my being up every 2 hours for something for pain (they staggered the pain meds to help) or just the constant in and out of nurses and techs, then bringing me home and getting me settled in.

So now I begin the recovery. My spinal fluid levels seem to have stabilized. No more of that crushing pain, thank goodness. I do still have a drain in-guess that’s why I can’t bend my head over yet. The drain comes out tomorrow! Then it’s just about the incision healing and my hair growing back, I hope! Of course there is still some pain at the site, but it isn’t so bad as it was even yesterday and certainly tremendously better than before the surgery!

I can’t drive yet either. That is an important ability and privilege-you don’t realize how important until you can’t! But I have found that is true about a lot of the things that I can no longer do–ride a horse, bungee jump, rollercoaster ride–fun, over the top things, that in my youth–oh yes, the wilder, faster, higher, crazier-the better.

 Still, today I find myself very grateful for my life, regardless of it’s limitations and very blessed to have the family and friends who obviously care so very much.

Leave a Reply

 
