CindyFrench-stranger than fiction stories

about facing life with hope and confidence, no matter the diagnosis

some more childhood stories

Posted by cindyhfrench on 09/01/2009


My next 3 yrs really were great! My sister and I were great friends. We rode our bikes all over Bellaire (Houston suburb)-you could do that back then. We rode to the library-loved Nancy Drew and Cherry Ames and the Bobbsey Twins and the Hardy Boys-to this day I love a good mystery! We went to the public swimming pool -back then, you bought a summer pass- and when we had 25 cents, we’d ride to the drugstore for an order of fries.We even rode our bikes to an “old folks home” and visited with our dolls. We were really close until I turned 13 and discovered boys! In junior high everything about life is suddenly different: what you wore, carried, looked like, who you associated with–all were important.

The only “interesting times” were my continuing sprains from playing ball and my brother’s emergency issues. I guess we had insurance back in those days-my poor parents!

There was a time at age 9 when I thought I was going to have a baby!! After all, my body was changing and I had a lot of stomach aches. I really didn’t want to have a baby-my brother was 3 by now and I had been thru his babyhood-and couldn’t imagine…my mom came in one night to tuck me in and say my prayers with me. I was crying. She asked me why and I replied that I was having a baby and didn’t want one. At that point, she explained a bit and asked me if I had done anything like THAT-of course I hadn’t. I didn’t realize even then about it takes two people. I was entirely too sheltered, but my dad was determined to raise us as if it were the 40’s!

Sometime in these years, my Dad ws building a boat. Actually a very nice cabin cruiser. We spent many a Saturday out on the water. I didn’t  realize my mom couldn’t swim and that she was always extremely uncomfortable, but found out years later-she went for Dad. At some point, Dad decided to teach me to ski. Being the uncoordinated person I was-am, I couldn’t get up and stay up. The end of my skiing as a child came when Dad and the boat were on the way back to pick me and drove right over me!! Somehow, with my mom screaming, he cut the motor in time, but I went under that boat thinking I was dead meat. I was amazed when I surfaced on the other side. I didn’t learn to ski until I was 16.

When I was 12, two things happened. I had a bad case of appendicitis. Again, not something they could check by a scan and the blood test was negative, but when the DR operated, my appendicts was about to burst. Again, God taking care of me. This time, I still remember the unrelenting pain afterwards, my 2nd major surgery.

But then something wonderful happened in April. My sister, Marilou was born. Oh, she was so tiny-4 wks early and when she came home, it was hard to get 2 oz down her! I took over night time feedings and loved her so much!And 18 months later, Andrew came along! Now I had 2 babies to play momma to!

Of course, I had my first major crush at 13-the 8th grade. I thought I would die when my boyfriend threw me over for my best friend. It was nice when I was 15 and he came back wanting to start up again, and I could say, SORRY! But oh, the tears a 13 yr old cries! How very real those feelings are! I’ve never forgotten-never dished my girls’ tears when they were going through it-as all girls do.

During all the growing up years, we attended church everytime the doors opened. Both my parents were very active. Dad was out every night of the week either working or at church. My nickname as Sunday School was “Sunshine”. I had so many questions on Sunday night though, I don’t think I was very well liked by the teachers. I loved girl’s auxillary on Wed. nights. To graduate to each leavel up to “queen” you had to learn a lot about missions and memorize scripture among many other tasks. You learned the names of the countries of the world, where we had missionaries, what they did and experienced. I think the main emphasis was on missions. When I was 9, I joined the church and was baptized. I did believe that Jesus Christ was the Son Of God, but at the same time had such rebellion in my heart…no one was going to tell ME what to do!

That was my problem with Dad. He was very dictatorial, very much the authority. When I came home from a party at 11 and showed him I had learned to dance the twist, he immediately forbade my dancing! I told him it was fun and all my friends were dancing, so I was going to also!. It was weird. He let me go to dances, but God forbid we were caught dancing at home!

My favorite year was the 9th grade. I was in the chorus- a lot of the “popular” crowd was in there and I got included. We had a year end “round up” -remember this is Texas! with a talent show and carnival. By this time I was a pretty good dancer and picked up most everything.  Our chorus group did a square dance routine and I danced with one of the most popular guys as my partner! heaven! Of course I can’t remember his name now!

My on again, off again boyfriend went to my church. Most of my church friends went to myhigh school. I auditioned and got into the “Bellaire Belles”- kind of a high school soriety and drum/bugle corp combined. I was to play the snare drum.  My parents always said I could date when I went to high school. I think they thought I’d be 16, but I was only 15 and that summer, I grew boobs! Finally! But naive and innocent, I was dangerous! I wish now that dating and boys weren’t so important through high school. Now that I have had time to reflect back on it, I wasn’t getting the approval, care or attention that a girl needs, actually craves from her dad. (Not that he knew how to give it)… I often thought I could have dyed my hair green and he wouldn’t have noticed, as long as my belly button wasn’t showing from a bathing suit, or my hip huggers! Let’s just say that I dated a lot, but had a rep for not “putting out”. I’d find out there was competition to see who could score. That certainly didn’t do much for my ego-it certainly wasn’t me that was important.

3 Responses to “some more childhood stories”

  1. MARILOU said

    I am learning soooo much about you:)

  2. cshowers said

    Your posts about your life are inspiring me to take a look back and record my history. Thanks so much for being so open and for sharing your life!

    • I am so glad. If I can be an inspiration to you that is great

      Cindy French CSAM, CPC Manager 8517 Gunn Highway Odessa, FL 33556 813.390.8791 (cell) 813.926.9390 (direct) 800.878.7165 x120 813.968.6450 (fax) cindy@mrtampanorth.com http://www.mrtampanorth.com View my profile on LinkedIn

      “It is impossible to have a great life unless it is a meaningful life. And it is very difficult to have a meaningful life without meaningful work.” Jim Collins, “Good To Great” Management Recruiters of Tampa North, Inc. is an equal opportunity employer regardless of race, color, religion, creed, sex, marital status, national origin, disability, age, veteran status, on-the-job injury, sexual orientation, political affiliation or belief. Employment decisions are made without consideration of these or any other factors that employers are prohibited by law from considering.

Leave a Reply

 
